## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Jo and Fred Nayfa of Sweetwater are marking another 2 memorable event in their long and happy union with the celebration 3 of their 60th wedding anniversary on April 17, 2006; and

WHEREAS, This treasured couple met nearly seven decades ago in Oklahoma City, while Mr. Nayfa was studying at Oklahoma City University; on April 17, 1946, they made a lasting commitment to each other as they exchanged their wedding vows in Gainesville; and

8 WHEREAS, Over the years, the industrious Mr. Nayfa owned 9 several businesses, including The Hub Store, The Fair Shop, and ENC 10 Discount; he also worked as a sales representative for Nayco 11 Products before his retirement in 1982; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Nayfa has stood by her husband's side in all his endeavors, devoting countless hours herself to the family enterprises, and she is regarded with affection and respect throughout the community as a loyal friend and neighbor; and

WHEREAS, Today the Nayfas are surrounded by a loving family 16 that has grown to include three cherished children and their 17 spouses, Nadine Craddick and her husband, Speaker Tom Craddick, Abe 18 Nayfa and his wife, Tori, and Jeanne Brewer and her husband, Keith; 19 the couple also delight in their grandchildren, Christi Leigh 20 21 Craddick, Thomas Russell Craddick, Jr., and his wife, Laura, Kyle Abraham Nayfa and his wife, Angie, Jeremy Kent Nayfa, Beau Keith 22 23 Brewer and his wife, Christa, and Ashley Michelle Brewer, and in 24 their great-granddaughter, Sydney Kate Nayfa; and

25 WHEREAS, Long active in their community, Jo and Fred Nayfa

1

continue to participate in local organizations while pursuing their favorite leisure-time activities; Mrs. Nayfa has been involved with the Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts, and Eastern Star, and she is presently a member of the Book Review Club; together with her husband, she is also a valued parishioner of First United Methodist Church; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Nayfa has formed many close friendships as a 6 7 member of the VFW, the American Legion, the Disabled Veterans of America, and Masonic Lodge No. 571, of which he is a past master and 8 past district deputy; this esteemed gentleman is a recipient of the 9 10 Golden Trowel Award, given by Lodge No. 571, and the Excalibur Award, conferred by the Templar Masonry and Sweetwater Commandry, 11 and he has been honored by the Suez Shrine Temple; an avid golfer, 12 he has recorded a remarkable four holes-in-one; and 13

WHEREAS, Through six decades, Jo and Fred Nayfa have fashioned a vibrant and rewarding partnership and demonstrated a deeply rooted commitment to one another, their family, and the institution of marriage; for their enduring union and for all they have accomplished in their life together, they are most deserving of warmest congratulations; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas, 21 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Jo and Fred Nayfa on the 22 occasion of their 60th wedding anniversary and extend to them best 23 wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Nayfa as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Craddick

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis Geren

Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon

McReynolds Menendez Merritt Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 11 was adopted by the House on April 17, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 11 was adopted by the Senate on April 17, 2006, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor