By: Keel H.C.R. No. 13

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, After more than three decades, members of the 2 Longhorn Nation can once again call themselves NCAA football 3 champions, thanks to the efforts of the dedicated young men who 4 claimed the national championship trophy for The University of 5 Texas at Austin on January 4, 2006; and

WHEREAS, In a game played before a sold-out crowd of nearly
100,000 fans and a television audience numbering in the millions,
the Longhorns, led by the formidable Vince Young, scored a
thrilling 41-38 victory over the University of Southern California
Trojans at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Young, the junior quarterback and recipient of the Rose Bowl MVP Award, took over the game in the second half and led Texas to its unforgettable come-from-behind win; his eight-yard romp into the end zone, with just seconds remaining in the game, capped a stunning individual effort that netted 467 yards of total offense, including 200 yards rushing and 267 yards passing; and

WHEREAS, Bolstered by Mr. Young's magnificent performance, the team's victory was ultimately the result of a singular commitment to teamwork by its players and thorough preparation by the team's coaches; Coach Mack Brown and his superlative staff ably guided the Longhorns through their undefeated championship season, skillfully navigating the team through a series of challenging confrontations, while keeping the players energized and focused from humble start to glorious finish; and

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

H.C.R. No. 13

WHEREAS, With their second consecutive Rose Bowl victory and fourth national championship crown, the Longhorns have reached the pinnacle of college football success, capturing the hearts and imaginations of countless fans around the country, and each member 2005 National Championship team is deserving congratulations and commendation for a job well done; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas, 3rd Called Session, hereby honor Coach Mack Brown, his staff, and the Texas Longhorn football team on bringing the 2005 National Championship trophy to the Lone Star State and recognize all those who contributed to this remarkable achievement; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team, Coach Mack Brown, and the Longhorn coaching staff as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

Representatives and Senate.