By: Merritt

H.C.R. No. 53

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For the third consecutive year, Lindale High School 2 has captured first prize in the UIL State 3A Academic and Speech 3 Championships, and this accomplishment is a tribute to the school's 4 talented students; and

5 WHEREAS, The school's speech team of Holley Nees, David 6 Baloche, Austyn Bailiff, Nicole Yeakley, and Noah Hutchison took 7 this year's team gold medal, while silver medal winners included 8 Ms. Nees for Lincoln-Douglas debate, Xioayun Wang for science, Mr. 9 Baloche and Mr. Bailiff for cross-examination debate, and Bethany 10 Johnsen for editorial writing; and

11 WHEREAS, Bronze medal winners were Ms. Wang for math, Mr. 12 Baloche for persuasive speaking, Ms. Nees for informative speaking, 13 and computer science team members Daniel Moore, Kye Harris, Ms. 14 Wang, and Casey Copeland; other winners include Ms. Wang, fifth 15 place in computer science, Mr. Harris, sixth place in computer 16 science, and speech honor crew members Jordan Innerarity and J. P. 17 Fugler; and

WHEREAS, Both the school's academic and speech teams owe a debt of gratitude to their outstanding sponsors: Janice Caldwell, Mikyela Tedder, Tina Prewitt, Pat Purl, and Mandy Luster; and

21 WHEREAS, The Lindale students are a source of great pride to 22 their families and school, and the memory of this impressive 23 achievement will surely remain with them for many years to come; 24 now, therefore, be it

79S32128 JHS-D

1

H.C.R. No. 53

1 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas, 2 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the members of the Lindale 3 High School academic and speech teams for winning the school's 4 third consecutive UIL State 3A Academic and Speech Championships 5 and extend best wishes to them for continued success; and, be it 6 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the teams as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives and Senate.