RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The citizens of Dallas lost a distinguished 2 businesswoman and patron of the arts with the passing of Juanita 3 Lewis Miller on November 21, 2005, at the age of 93; and

WHEREAS, Born on February 14, 1912, in Kiowa, Oklahoma, Mrs. Miller earned her bachelor's degree from the University of Oklahoma; she taught English at a high school and at Kilgore Junior College before being placed in charge of recreation and cultural arts at a center for returning World War II service personnel in Hot Springs, Arkansas; it was there that she met Henry S. Miller, Jr., whom she married in 1945; and

11 WHEREAS, After moving to Dallas in the 1940s, Mrs. Miller 12 helped her husband establish what would become one of the nation's 13 largest real estate companies; she went on to play a critical role 14 in the burgeoning Dallas arts scene, cofounding with her husband 15 the Dallas Civic Opera, now the Dallas Opera, in 1957 and founding 16 the Texas Women's Association for Symphony Orchestras, now the 17 Texas Association for Symphony Orchestras, in 1965; and

18 WHEREAS, Mrs. Miller further served as vice president and 19 board member of the Dallas Ballet, president and board member of the 20 Dallas Opera, board member of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, and 21 president and board member of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra League; 22 moreover, she was a founding board member of the Dallas Theater 23 Center and served on the president's council for the Dallas Museum 24 of Art as well as on the board of the Dallas Museum of Art League;

1

1 and

2 WHEREAS, The City of Dallas also greatly benefited from Mrs. 3 Miller's commitment to philanthropy and public service, notably 4 through her work as zone chair for the American Red Cross and fund 5 drive chair for Community Chest; she was a charter member of the 6 Dallas Council on World Affairs and was appointed by the mayor of 7 Dallas to the cultural division of the Mayor's Commission on 8 International Development; and

WHEREAS, In recognition of her lifelong involvement in the 9 arts and her commitment to civic and educational causes, Mrs. 10 Miller was named Les Femmes du Monde's Woman of the Year in 1999; 11 her other recognitions include the Flora Award, the TACA Silver Cup 12 Award, and the Dallas Historical Society Award for Excellence in 13 14 the Arts; one of her proudest achievements was the Juanita Miller 15 Concerto Competition, a scholarship offered through the Texas Association for Symphony Orchestras; and 16

WHEREAS, Although she is profoundly missed by family and friends, Juanita Miller has left behind an exceptional legacy of good works that will benefit generations of Texans for years to come; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 22 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of 23 Juanita Lewis Miller and extend sincere sympathy to the members of 24 her family: to her husband of more than 60 years, Henry S. Miller, 25 Jr.; to her children and their spouses, Vance Miller and Geraldine 26 Tincy Miller, Patsy Miller Donosky and David Donosky, Henry S. 27 Miller III and Angela Ahmadi Miller, and Jacqueline Miller Stewart

2

and Peter B. Stewart; to her grandchildren, Cynthia Vance Abrams 1 2 and her husband, Robert, Vaughn Miller and his wife, Dena, Gregory 3 Miller and his wife, Kim, Steve Donosky and his wife, Lissie, Janie 4 Donosky Coudon and her husband, David, Nancy Donosky Ross, Patricia 5 Sue Donosky, Kathy Miller Rabey and her husband, Tracy, Henry S. 6 Miller IV and his wife, Lydia, Michael Miller and his wife, Lindsey, Alexander Miller, Nicole Stewart, Colin Stewart, John Stewart, and 7 8 Sasha Stewart; to her 25 great-grandchildren; and to her other 9 relatives and many friends; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 12 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Juanita 13 Lewis Miller.

Goolsby

3

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 15 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 27, 2006.

Chief Clerk of the House