H.R. No. 54

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The cheerleaders of Victoria Memorial High School have added an impressive new honor to their collection by capturing the 2006 National Cheerleading Championship; and

WHEREAS, This talented group of students competed against 52 squads from across the country at the Universal Cheerleaders
Association event held on February 11-12, 2006, in Orlando,
Florida; and

WHEREAS, The team participated in the small varsity division, performing a stellar routine that earned them top honors in the event, a feat that enabled the girls to claim the first such national triumph for a cheerleading squad from their school; and

WHEREAS, Led by head cheerleading coach Denise Neel, choreographer Missy DeLuna, and assistant coaches Ricky Contreras, Sarah Jambers, and Lindsay Neel, the award-winning team includes seniors Amanda Dunn and Spencer Streetman, juniors Jordan Payne, Sheina Farooqui, Ashley Blackburn, and Syndal Brown, sophomores Brittney Morris, Shelley Frerich, Kelcey Newell, and Marlee Mize, freshmen Katy Boles and Stephanie Bess, and alternates Ashton Bland and Caitlin Klare; and

WHEREAS, The Victoria Memorial cheerleaders have demonstrated outstanding talent, dedication, and sportsmanship throughout their memorable season, and their efforts have earned them a special place of honor in the history of their school and set an inspiring example for those who will follow in their footsteps;

H.R. No. 54

1 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Victoria Memorial High School cheerleaders on earning the Universal Cheerleaders Association 2006 National Championship title and extend to them best wishes for continued success; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the squad and their school as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Morrison

## H.R. No. 54

Craddick Giddings McReynolds Allen Gonzales Menendez Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Merritt Miller Anchia Goodman Anderson Goolsby Moreno Bailey Griggs Morrison Grusendorf Berman Mowery Blake Guillen Naishtat Haggerty Bohac Nixon Bonnen Hamilton Noriega Oliveira Branch Hamric Brown of Kaufman Hardcastle Olivo Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Orr Burnam Hartnett Otto Callegari Hegar Paxton Campbell Hernandez Pena Phillips Casteel Herrero Castro Hilderbran Pickett Chavez Hill Pitts Chisum Hochberg Puente Coleman Hodge Quintanilla Cook of Navarro Homer Raymond Cook of Colorado Норе Reyna Corte Riddle Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Crabb Ritter Howard of Travis Rodriguez Crownover Davis of Harris Hughes Rose Davis of Dallas Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Dawson Hupp Delisi Isett Denny Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Deshotel Solis Driver Jones of Dallas Solomons Dukes Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Dunnam Straus Keffer of Eastland Swinford Dutton King of Parker Edwards Talton Eiland King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Eissler Thompson Elkins Krusee Truitt Turner England Kuempel Escobar Laney Uresti Farabee Laubenberg Van Arsdale Veasey Farrar Leibowitz Villarreal Flores Luna Flynn Madden Vo Martinez West Frost Martinez Fischer Gallego Wong

McCall McClendon

Gattis

Geren

Woolley

Zedler

TT	$\Gamma$	TAT	/
н	ĸ	NΩ	24

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 54 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House