H.R. No. 65

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Fort Woof Dog Park in Fort Worth was nominated by 2 readers of *Dog Fancy* magazine as the number one dog park in the 3 country, and this popular dog-lover destination is "groomed" to 4 become even more "doggone" frisky in the coming year; and

5 WHEREAS, Thanks to the "dogged" efforts of many local 6 citizens, in April 2004 Fort Worth established its first park dedicated especially to canine recreation; located on a hill 7 overlooking downtown, this expansive five-acre, off-leash, no-cat 8 zone includes separate fenced areas for large and small dogs and 9 plenty of seating for their bipedal pals; moreover, when the 10 11 panting overcomes the play, there are drinking fountains for all; 12 and

13 WHEREAS, Fort Woof represents a unique partnership between 14 members of the community and the City of Fort Worth, as park advocates raise money to help defray operating costs; while city 15 employees keep it looking "fetching," members of the Fort Worth Dog 16 Park Association host the annual Barktoberfest and 17 other fund-raising activities, and in two years, they have contributed 18 more than \$25,000 to the beloved running ground that attracts 19 20 hundreds of people and pooches daily; and

21 WHEREAS, For being among the top 10 dog parks chosen, Fort 22 Woof will receive a grant for \$2,500 from Novartis Animal Health and 23 Deramaxx to make improvements that the dogs are sure to "dig"; and 24 WHEREAS, With the development of this superior park, Fort

1

Worth has thrown its dog lovers and their four-legged friends a meaty bone indeed, and it is a pleasure to recognize the Fort Woof Dog Park for this outstanding achievement; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

5 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby honor Fort Woof Dog Park on 6 being named the number one dog park in the United States and 7 recognize April 29, 2006, as Fort Woof Dog Park Day.

Veasey

H.R. No. 65

H.R. No. 65

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 65 was adopted by the House on April 21, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House