H.R. No. 89

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Jim Wells County resident Celerina T. Medina 2 recently marked a momentous event in her life with the observance of
- 3 her 105th birthday; and
- WHEREAS, A native of Hebbronville, Mrs. Medina was born on
- 5 February 3, 1901, and grew up with the companionship of nine
- 6 siblings; her family followed the challenging lifestyle of migrant
- 7 workers, traveling by wagon and burro to ranches throughout West
- 8 Texas and up to Michigan to pick cotton, turnips, beets, cucumbers,
- 9 and other crops; Mrs. Medina appreciates the travel that came with
- 10 her childhood as an opportunity to see the world beyond her
- 11 hometown; and
- 12 WHEREAS, With her husband, the late Juan Medina, this lovely
- 13 lady was blessed with a family of six children, and she devoted her
- 14 energy to her family's well-being; in addition to cleaning and
- 15 cooking, she found time to enjoy gardening, quilting, embroidery,
- and sewing clothes for her children; and
- WHEREAS, A resident of Alice since 1955, Mrs. Medina gives
- 18 thanks for her health and for a host of dear friends and relatives
- 19 with whom she shares the richness of her life; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Celerina Medina has made lasting contributions in
- 21 the lives of countless people with her positive outlook,
- 22 friendship, and caring nature, and it is a pleasure to join her
- 23 family and friends in celebrating a truly special birthday; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 89

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Celerina T.
- 3 Medina on the joyous occasion of her 105th birthday and extend to
- 4 her heartfelt wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mrs. Medina as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Gonzalez Toureilles

H.R. No. 89

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 89 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House