H.R. No. 91

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, United States Army Private First Class Javier Garcia of Alice returned home to Texas in January 2006 after risking his life in service to his country and sustaining serious injuries in combat; and

WHEREAS, Private Garcia was assigned to the 2nd Battalion, 8th Infantry Regiment, 2nd Brigade Combat Team, 4th Infantry Division in Fort Hood; on December 27, 2005, less than a month after arriving in Iraq, he was hit by an improvised explosive device while patrolling in Baghdad; he narrowly escaped with his life, and his heroism on that day earned him a Purple Heart; and

WHEREAS, The son of Patricia Hinojosa and Javier Garcia and stepson of Alvaro Perez, this courageous Texan was presented with a key to the city of Alice and U.S. and Texas flags in a welcome ceremony attended by city and state officials and VFW members; named an honorary member of the Alice VFW, Private Garcia hopes that on his recovery, he can return to Iraq; and

WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt to the country's military personnel, for they are called on to bear great, often unimaginable, burdens, and they render service and sacrifice that is truly beyond measure; through his dedication to duty, honor, and this country, Javier Garcia has embodied the highest ideals of the armed forces and earned the lasting respect and gratitude of all who know him; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

H.R. No. 91

- 1 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend U.S. Army Private
- 2 First Class Javier Garcia for his brave and steadfast service in
- 3 Iraq and extend to him sincere best wishes for a complete and speedy
- 4 recovery; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Private Garcia as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Gonzalez Toureilles

TT	_	7. T	\sim 1
_	$\boldsymbol{\mathcal{L}}$	Nο	a i

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 91 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House