H.R. No. 138

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, More than seven decades of marriage is truly cause
- for celebration, and on December 1, 2005, Norris and Dorothy Turk of
- 3 Midland observed their 71st wedding anniversary; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The couple met when Mr. Turk was working for the
- 5 Geophysical Research Corporation in Andrews and staying at the
- 6 hotel operated by Dorothy's parents; later his work took him to
- 7 Kermit, where the couple borrowed money for a marriage license and
- 8 wed in the home of a Methodist minister; and
- 9 WHEREAS, After residing for a time in a two-room garage with
- 10 no running water, the newlyweds moved to the Texas coast, where Mr.
- 11 Turk took a job with Amerada oil company; in 1949, they followed Mr.
- 12 Turk's career north to Canada, living in Alberta and the Northwest
- 13 Territories for 21 years; on their return to the states, they lived
- 14 in Springdale, Arkansas, before settling in West Texas near
- 15 relatives; and
- WHEREAS, Today, both in their early 90s, Mr. Turk enjoys
- 17 doing needlepoint and cross-stitch, and Mrs. Turk is an active
- 18 volunteer at a nearby health center; in the evenings they can often
- 19 be found taking in the sunset from their balcony; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Turk's enduring union of love and
- 21 companionship is a source of inspiration to all who know them, and
- 22 their special bond ensures that many more joyful times await them;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

H.R. No. 138

- 1 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Norris and
- 2 Dorothy Turk on their 71st wedding anniversary and extend to them
- 3 heartfelt best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Turk as an expression of high regard by
- 6 the Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

TT	ח	TAT \frown	138
н	ĸ	$N \cap$	1 3 🛎

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 138 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House