RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The football team of Highland Park High School in 2 Dallas won the University Interscholastic League Class 4A Division

I State Championship on December 10, 2005, taking home its third

4 state football title in the school's history; and

3

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, In their campaign to win the state crown, the Highland Park Scots compiled a perfect 15-0 record, dominating most of their opponents with a mixture of explosive, pass-oriented offense and crushing defense; and

WHEREAS, The team won many of its games by large margins, including the 59-0 victory in the championship match-up with the Marshall Mavericks; the Scots also proved that they possessed the gutsy determination to make key plays when victory hung in the balance; this was best illustrated in the semifinal battle against the Stephenville Yellowjackets, when a crucial late-game interception set up a Highland Park touchdown in the final minute to give the team a 41-38 win and a trip to the championship game; and

WHEREAS, The team's "Band of Brothers" mindset eloquently demonstrates the spirit of teamwork that characterized its play, and its success was rooted in the hard work of each member of the squad: Matthew Barnes, Walker Bateman, Justin Biersmith, Sam Bennet, Bret Besing, Ross Bolin, Will Bonano, Michael Bott, Zack Boyd, Robert Brooks, Jason Bueno, John Callahan, Alex Carroll, Charlie Clarke, Cam Clinton, Drew Cohen, Alex Cole, Joe Collins, Bobby Cowan, Dutch Crews, Clayton Dallas, Blake Davis, Stephen

DeBeer, Charley Dickenson, John Dickenson, Preston Dill, Knox 1 2 Doster, Kami Duck, Carter Dunlap, Austin Edrington, John Ellerman, 3 Carter English, Hunter Estes, Ryan Fanning, John Farris, Jake 4 Feldt, David Foose, John Foose, Seth Gardner, Michael Graham, Seth 5 Graham, Patrick Grinnan, Jeff Gubert, David Hamilton, Will Harris, 6 Jeff Hawes, Thomas Hill, Haley Holmes, Chris Hoover, Morgan 7 Hudnall, Patrick Hunt, Anwar Husain, Kyle Hurst, Travis Hutt, Barton Irby, J. K. Jauregui, Konrad Kaltenbach, Ben Kardell, 8 9 Jarrett Karrington, Brett Krause, Will Larson, John Leak, Davidson 10 Liland, John Lindstrom, Cody Little, Pan Lucas, Brett Martin, Holt Martin, Taylor Matter, Laura McCool, Ryan McDougal, Josh Meredith, 11 12 James Miers, Blake Montie, Devin Musick, Brooks Neblett, Ryan O'Dwyer, Chris Olson, Matt Owen, Ben Paschal, Eli Pierce, Sam 13 14 Pierce, Preston Perry, Hayden Pittman, Reid Prince, Wade Prospere, 15 David Rain, Holt Redwine, Davis Ridley, Evan Rodeffer, Kyle Root, Ryan Ross, Fredric Rowsey, Victor Salvino, John Sargent, Andrew 16 17 Scates, Paul Schaufele, David Shaw, John Shaw, Will Shellenberger, Brantley Smith, Garrick Smith, Trevor Smith, Clay Springer, Matthew 18 19 Stafford, Bradley Stephenson, Jarrett Sweet, Clayton Thomas, George Thompson, Jeff Thompson, Justin Toon, Kelly Turner, Andy 20 21 Viehman, John Volk, James Walter, William Webb, and Ben Wilhite; 22 and WHEREAS, These fine players were guided by the thoughtful 23 24 leadership of head coach Randy Allen and the members of his staff:

Dr. Cliff Alexander, Ron Ashby, Jimmy Bradley, Tom Callahan,

Christal Clark, Brandon Faircloth, James Farnsley, Dr. Leigh

Galatzan, Doug Gibbins, Jay Harris, Mark Howeth, Butch Nickleberry,

25

26

27

- 1 Dr. Scott Paschal, Cliff Prier, Scotty Pugh, Shanon Purcell, Jim
- 2 Randall, Greg Reed, Gordon Toney, and Grayson Wells; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The exceptional Highland Park football players,
- 4 together with their coaches and staff, are a source of great pride
- 5 to the students and faculty of their school and to their ardent
- 6 supporters in the community, for they have given their loyal fans a
- 7 most exciting and memorable season; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 9 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Highland
- 10 Park High School football team for winning the 2005 UIL Class 4A
- 11 Division I State Championship and extend to them sincere best
- 12 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 14 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 15 House of Representatives.

Branch

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 153 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House