H.R. No. 212

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2006 marks the 40th anniversary of the
2 founding of Highlander School in the Lake Highlands community of
3 Dallas, and alumni and other supporters are joining the current
4 faculty, administration, and student body on April 30 to celebrate
5 this noteworthy occasion; and
6 WHEREAS, The school first opened its doors on September 7,
7 1966, and was established to provide students in prekindergarten

1966, and was established to provide students in prekindergarten through the sixth grade with an outstanding education that fosters their intellectual, emotional, and spiritual development in a Christian environment; through the years, nearly 600 students have graduated from the school and gone on to enjoy academic success and professional achievements throughout Texas and the United States; and

WHEREAS, The success of Highlander School is due in large part to Dr. Betty Woodring, who has ably led the school since its inception, and this esteemed educator continues to inspire her students and faculty today with her commitment to educational excellence; and

WHEREAS, A source of great pride to the community, Highlander School stands as a testament to the hard work of its faculty and staff, both past and present, as well as to the admirable ideals on which it was founded, and it will no doubt continue to provide countless young Texans for years to come with the tools necessary to build successful and productive lives; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 212

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Dr. Betty Woodring and all those associated with Highlander School on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of its founding; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Keffer of Dallas

Η	P	No.	21	2

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 212 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House