H.R. No. 223

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, National and international experts on correctional policy and human rights are meeting at The University of Texas at Austin from April 23 through April 26, 2006, to discuss external scrutiny of conditions in U.S. prisons and jails; and

WHEREAS, Adjunct Professor Michele Deitch of the Lyndon B.

Johnson School of Public Affairs at UT and Professor Michael

Mushlin of Pace Law School in New York have worked tirelessly to

identify experts from throughout the country and around the globe
to contribute to the conference, titled "Opening Up a Closed World:

What Constitutes Effective Prison Oversight?"; and

WHEREAS, The topic of independent prison oversight is especially important at a time when the Texas criminal justice system is proving that it can live up to constitutional ideals without the need for court intervention and oversight; and

WHEREAS, Issues relating to the transparency and accountability of correctional institutions matter both to those who advocate for the protection of prisoners' rights and to those who are charged with holding prisoners safely and humanely; and

WHEREAS, In bringing this conference to fruition, Michele Deitch and Michael Mushlin have been instrumental in organizing an event that is sure to stimulate dialogue and debate for years to come and lead to significant reforms within the U.S. criminal justice system; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

H.R. No. 223

- 1 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby honor Michele Deitch and
- 2 Michael Mushlin for their hard work and dedication in organizing
- 3 the conference "Opening Up a Closed World: What Constitutes
- 4 Effective Prison Oversight?"; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Michele Deitch and Michael Mushlin as an expression of
- 7 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Madden

H.R.	No.	223

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 223 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House