H.R. No. 227

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives takes great pride
in joining the Texas Association of Counties in recognizing April
26, 2006, as County Government Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The week of April 23-29, 2006, is being observed by the National Association of Counties as National County Government Week to provide the nation's citizens with an opportunity to honor the many contributions made by county governments; and

8 WHEREAS, The oldest form of local government in the United 9 States, county government addresses many critical issues, 10 including environmental protection, indigent health care, special 11 assistance for the elderly, job training, and public safety; and

WHEREAS, The dedicated individuals who serve our state's 254 counties as elected or appointed officials not only work diligently to meet the needs of citizens without placing an undue burden on taxpayers but also commit themselves to finding solutions to problems that will benefit all Texans; and

17 WHEREAS, The Texas Association of Counties encourages 18 citizens across the state to observe National County Government 19 Week by learning more about this vital form of local government and 20 the many ways in which it serves the public; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 22 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend the county 23 officials of this state for their countless contributions to Texas 24 and welcome members of the Texas Association of Counties to the

1

1 State Capitol.

H.R. No. 227

Smith of Harris

2

H.R. No. 227

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis Geren

Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon

McReynolds Menendez Merritt Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 227

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 227 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House