H.R. No. 235

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Edna Staudt was accorded a great honor 2 in March 2006 when she was named 2005 Judge of the Year by the 3 Central Texas Justices of the Peace and Constables Association and 4 was also elected president of the organization; and

5 WHEREAS, Judge Staudt is the justice of the peace for 6 Williamson County, Precinct 2, and her service in that capacity has earned her the respect and admiration of her colleagues and her 7 fellow citizens; in addition to executing the duties of her office 8 with integrity and dedication, she made a lasting impact on the 9 youth of the community through the establishment of Teen Court, 10 11 where students learn the judicial system firsthand in the roles of 12 prosecutor, defense attorney, juror, bailiff, and judge, as well as 13 through the operation of the Justice Court Mentoring Program; and

14 WHEREAS, Now in her third term of office, Judge Staudt serves 15 on the Williamson County Jail Bond Board, the Child Fatality Review 16 Team, and the Safe and Drug-Free Schools Committee; and

WHEREAS, Both as a public official and as a private citizen, this distinguished woman has contributed greatly to the betterment of her community and state, and her efforts have set a fine example of leadership and civic involvement for others to emulate; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Williamson County Justice of the Peace Edna Staudt on earning the title of 2005

1

H.R. No. 235
Judge of the Year from the Central Texas Justices of the Peace and
Constables Association and extend to her best wishes for success
and happiness in the years to come; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for Judge Staudt as an expression of high regard by the 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Gattis

H.R. No. 235

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 235 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House