H.R. No. 254

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Travis County Council of the Veterans of Foreign 2 Wars is sponsoring its 2006 Memorial Day observance in tribute to 3 the more than one million Americans who have given their lives for 4 freedom during times of war and in honor of all who have served 5 their country in the armed forces of the United States of America; 6 and

7 WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have sons and 8 daughters whose love of country leads them to military service, yet 9 we are keenly aware of the price so many have paid and the 10 sacrifices that members of the military continue to render; and

11 WHEREAS, At this time of grave concern, we recognize those 12 who are engaged in dangerous missions abroad and keep them in our 13 hearts as we hope for their safe return; their devotion to duty, 14 honor, and their country is deserving of their fellow citizens' 15 deepest gratitude; and

16 WHEREAS, With roots stretching back more than a century, the 17 VFW has worked steadfastly to assist veterans and to provide moral 18 and financial support to those who are presently serving on active 19 duty; the staunch commitment of this organization to the welfare of 20 America's veterans is also deserving of grateful recognition; and

21 WHEREAS, The freedoms that our nation enjoys have been dearly 22 bought, and time can never diminish the debt this country owes to 23 those whose lives were cut grievously short in its service; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 254

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 2 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend the Travis County 3 Council of the Veterans of Foreign Wars for calling on Texans to 4 honor the tremendous sacrifice that lies at the heart of Memorial 5 Day and that it extend to all the members of the nation's armed 6 services profound appreciation for their courageous efforts in our 7 country's behalf.

Naishtat

H.R. No. 254

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 254 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House