H.R. No. 284

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, St. Philip's College in San Antonio honored the 2 first graduating class of its Early Childhood Studies program at a 3 special reception on November 9, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Under the able leadership of program director Pamela Ray, the graduates have completed their course of study and are now qualified to attain employment as a Head Start lead teacher, center director, program coordinator, or trainer; and

WHEREAS, In addition to commemorating the graduation of these outstanding students, the faculty of St. Philip's Early Childhood Studies program announced the implementation of Project Advance, a new collaboration with The University of Texas at San Antonio and Parent/Child, Inc., the only Head Start and Early Head Start program serving San Antonio and the Bexar County area; designed to strengthen the training of future Head Start teachers, the new initiative will allow participants to gain bachelor's degrees in reading and early education; and

WHEREAS, The members of the first graduating class of St. Philip's College Early Childhood Studies program may take justifiable pride in their hard work and dedication to educational excellence, and they, along with future graduates of the program and Project Advance, will undoubtedly give countless children a strong foundation on which to build; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the graduates

H.R. No. 284

- of St. Philip's College Early Childhood Studies program on their
- 2 achievement and commend all those associated with the school for
- 3 their continued commitment to the enrichment of our state's most
- 4 precious resource, our children; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the program as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

H.R. No. 284

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 284 was adopted by the House on May  $10,\,2006$ , by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House