H.R. No. 285

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Servants in Praise Gospel Ensemble of San Antonio hosted its 13th Black Heritage Celebration on March 4,

3 2006; and

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

WHEREAS, Founded in 1993 and led today by Irving Moore, Jr., 4 5 of Boyd Chapel AME Church, the ensemble is composed of the following 6 talented members from churches throughout the Alamo City: Shelly Harrington, TeCora James, and Lillian Wiley of New Saint Mark 7 Baptist Church, Ronald Murphy of Church of the Living God, Robert 8 Johnson of New Covenant Baptist Church, Josylon Tidwell of Second 9 Baptist Church, Judith Dunn of Emmanuel Baptist Church, Julia 10 11 Bingham of People's Missionary Baptist Church, and Charlee Dawkins

of St. John's Ind. Methodist Church; and

WHEREAS, For 13 years, the Servants in Praise Gospel Ensemble has hosted a memorable Black Heritage Celebration, and this highly anticipated event has become a treasured tradition for many; participants at the 2006 event came from Texas, Louisiana, and Mississippi and included the Wonderful Harmonizers, the Mighty Supremes, the Conquerors, and evangelist Loretta Hooper; and

WHEREAS, In the aftermath of Hurricanes Rita and Katrina, the Black Heritage Celebration was more poignant this year as the survivors of those tragedies continued to move forward in their lives, supported by their strong faith and the powerful constant of prayer; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives at the 79th Texas

H.R. No. 285

- 1 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby honor the Servants in
- 2 Praise Gospel Ensemble for hosting the 13th Annual Black Heritage
- 3 Celebration and extend to all those who participated in the event
- 4 best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the Servants in Praise Gospel Ensemble as an
- 7 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

H.R. No. 285

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 285 was adopted by the House on May $10,\,2006$, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House