RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Pulitzer Prize, one of the most prestigious
- 2 literary awards in the United States, was bestowed on Dr. David M.
- 3 Oshinsky of Austin for his book Polio: An American Story; and
- 4 WHEREAS, In winning the 2006 Pulitzer in the history
- 5 category, Dr. Oshinsky has distinguished himself as one of the
- 6 leading historians of modern American culture; moreover, he has
- 7 brought honor to The University of Texas at Austin, where he is the
- 8 George Littlefield Professor of American History; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A graduate of Cornell University, where he received
- 10 his bachelor's and master's degrees, and Brandeis University, where
- 11 he was awarded a Ph.D. in 1971, Dr. Oshinsky was a professor at
- 12 Rutgers University for 30 years before joining the faculty at The
- 13 University of Texas in 2001; and
- 14 WHEREAS, In writing Polio: An American Story, Dr. Oshinsky
- 15 has created an insightful analysis of the nation's fight against
- 16 this dreaded disease; his vivid account chronicles the immense fear
- and suffering caused by polio and details the successful search for
- 18 a vaccine to prevent it; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Polio: An American Story is one of several highly
- 20 respected works written by this renowned historian; his
- 21 considerable skills as a researcher and writer are also evident in A
- 22 Conspiracy So Immense: The World of Joe McCarthy, which won the
- 23 Hardeman Prize as the best book about the United States Congress,
- 24 and Worse Than Slavery: Parchman Farm and the Ordeal of Jim Crow

- Justice, winner of the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award; in addition, he 1 2 is a coauthor of American Passages: A History of the United States 3 and a coeditor of The Oxford Companion to United States History; and 4 WHEREAS, Winning the Pulitzer Prize is truly an extraordinary 5 accomplishment, and with his compelling historical account of the 6 race to find a cure for polio, Dr. Oshinsky has greatly contributed to the rich tradition of letters in the Lone Star State; now, 7 therefore, be it 8
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
 10 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Dr. David M.
 11 Oshinsky on winning the 2006 Pulitzer Prize in the history category
 12 and extend to him warmest best wishes for continued success; and, be
 13 it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Dr. Oshinsky as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Naishtat

Craddick Giddings McReynolds Allen Gonzales Menendez Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Merritt Miller Anchia Goodman Anderson Goolsby Moreno Bailey Griggs Morrison Grusendorf Berman Mowery Blake Guillen Naishtat Haggerty Bohac Nixon Bonnen Hamilton Noriega Oliveira Branch Hamric Brown of Kaufman Hardcastle Olivo Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Orr Hartnett Otto Burnam Callegari Hegar Paxton Campbell Hernandez Pena Phillips Casteel Herrero Castro Hilderbran Pickett Chavez Hill Pitts Chisum Hochberg Puente Coleman Hodge Quintanilla Cook of Navarro Homer Raymond Cook of Colorado Норе Reyna Corte Riddle Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Crabb Ritter Howard of Travis Rodriguez Crownover Davis of Harris Hughes Rose Davis of Dallas Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Dawson Hupp Delisi Isett Denny Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Deshotel Solis Driver Jones of Dallas Solomons Dukes Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Dunnam Straus Keffer of Eastland Swinford Dutton King of Parker Edwards Talton Eiland King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Eissler Thompson Elkins Krusee Truitt Turner England Kuempel Escobar Laney Uresti Farabee Laubenberg Van Arsdale Veasey Farrar Leibowitz Villarreal Flores Luna Flynn Madden Vo Martinez West Frost Martinez Fischer Gallego Wong Woolley Gattis McCall

Zedler

McClendon

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 423 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House