By: Naishtat H.R. No. 423

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Pulitzer Prize, one of the most prestigious

literary awards in the United States, was bestowed on Dr. David M.

3 Oshinsky of Austin for his book, Polio: An American Story; and

WHEREAS, In winning the 2006 Pulitzer in the history

category, Dr. Oshinsky has distinguished himself as one of the

leading historians of modern American culture; moreover, he has

brought honor to The University of Texas at Austin, where he is the

George Littlefield Professor of American History; and

9 WHEREAS, A graduate of Cornell University, where he received

his bachelor's and master's degrees, and Brandeis University, where

he was awarded a Ph.D. in 1971, Dr. Oshinsky was a professor at

12 Rutgers University for 30 years before joining the faculty at The

13 University of Texas in 2001; and

2

5

6

7

8

10

11

17

20

21

14 WHEREAS, In writing Polio: An American Story, Dr. Oshinsky

15 has created an insightful analysis of the nation's fight against

16 this dreaded disease; his vivid account chronicles the immense fear

and suffering caused by polio and details the successful search for

18 a vaccine to prevent it; and

19 WHEREAS, Polio: An American Story is one of several highly

respected works written by this renowned historian; his

considerable skills as a researcher and writer are also evident in A

22 Conspiracy So Immense: The World of Joe McCarthy, which won the

23 Hardeman Prize as the best book about the United States Congress,

24 and Worse Than Slavery: Parchman Farm and the Ordeal of Jim Crow

H.R. No. 423

- Justice, winner of the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award; in addition, he 1 2 is a coauthor of American Passages: A History of the United States 3 and a coeditor of The Oxford Companion to United States History; and 4 WHEREAS, Winning the Pulitzer Prize is truly an extraordinary 5 accomplishment, and with his compelling historical account of the 6 race to find a cure for polio, Dr. Oshinsky has greatly contributed to the rich tradition of letters in the Lone Star State; now, 7 therefore, be it 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
 10 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Dr. David M.
 11 Oshinsky on winning the 2006 Pulitzer Prize in the history category
 12 and extend to him warmest best wishes for continued success; and, be
 13 it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Dr. Oshinsky as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.