H.R. No. 456

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Marvin Gordon Hackler of Golden was honored by 2 family and friends on February 10, 2006, when they gathered to 3 celebrate the 95th birthday of this esteemed family patriarch; and

WHEREAS, Born in Campbell on February 12, 1911, Mr. Hackler has lived in Golden for more than five decades; he still resides in the home that he built in 1950, and he stays busy reading, gardening, and raising cattle on his 200-acre spread; and

8 WHEREAS, Retired since 1975, Mr. Hackler was employed with 9 International Paper in Florida and Louisiana, Red River Arsenal in 10 New Boston, and United Gas in Mineola; he also operated his farm in 11 Golden; and

12 WHEREAS, It was in Golden that he met his wife, the former 13 Annie Elizabeth Carr, whom he married on October 28, 1933, in 14 Quitman; together they raised five children: Charles, Dee, Ann, Jerry, and Truman Lee, and today the Hackler family has grown to 15 16 include 13 grandchildren, 16 great-grandchildren, and six great-great-grandchildren; and 17

18 WHEREAS, An active member of the Golden United Methodist 19 Church since 1947, Mr. Hackler is beloved throughout his community, 20 and he presided as grand marshal in the 2005 Golden Sweet Potato 21 Festival Parade; and

22 WHEREAS, Marvin Gordon Hackler has made countless friends 23 during his long and successful life, and the members of this chamber 24 are pleased to honor this notable native Texan and to recognize his

1

H.R. No. 456

1 95th birthday; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 3 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Marvin Gordon 4 Hackler on the celebration of his 95th birthday and extend best 5 wishes to him for continued happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Hackler as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Hughes

H.R. No. 456

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 456 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House