H.R. No. 472

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Arnulfo Vasquez, a special education teacher at the 1 2 Alternative Disciplinary Education Center in San Antonio, has been

3 named an Edgewood Independent School District 2005 Teacher of the

Year; and 4

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

5 WHEREAS, The prestigious Teacher of the Year awards are 6 presented to educators who inspire a love of learning that places their students on the path to a bright and rewarding future; and 7

WHEREAS, A U.S. Army veteran, Mr. Vasquez earned his bachelor of science degree from the State University of New York at Albany and then received his master's degree in education administration from Texas A&M University--Kingsville; he joined Edgewood ISD in 1995 and worked at Brentwood Middle School before joining the Alternative Center; the lead special education teacher at his campus, he works with students in grades 9-12 and incorporates technology into his everyday teaching to prepare his students for the 21st century workforce; and

WHEREAS, Children are the Lone Star State's most precious resource, and a quality education is vital in order for our young people to become successful adults; Mr. Vasquez has demonstrated the commitment to excellence that we expect from our teachers and is indeed an exemplary role model in the teaching profession; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 24 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Arnulfo

H.R. No. 472

- 1 Vasquez of the Alternative Disciplinary Education Center on being
- 2 named an Edgewood Independent School District 2005 Teacher of the
- 3 Year and extend to him best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Vasquez as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Castro

Н	D	$N \cap$	177

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 472 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House