H.R. No. 474

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Martha Sosa, a science teacher at John F. Kennedy 2 High School in San Antonio, has been named an Edgewood Independent School District 2005 Teacher of the Year; and 3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

WHEREAS, The prestigious Teacher of the Year awards are presented to educators who inspire a love of learning that places their students on the path to a bright and rewarding future; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Sosa earned her bachelor of science degree and teacher certification from St. Mary's University and her master of arts degree in educational leadership from The University of Texas at San Antonio; since joining Edgewood ISD in August 1993, she has taught anatomy and physiology, biology, integrated physics, and chemistry, and she has assisted with the freshman recovery program, helped to implement the Dana Center training, and directed the RYA and YO enrichment program for math and science; moreover, she has taught at-risk students, has tutored TAKS students, and has cowritten the science curriculum; and

WHEREAS, Children are the Lone Star State's most precious resource, and a quality education is vital in order for our young people to become successful adults; Ms. Sosa has demonstrated the commitment to excellence that we expect from our teachers and is indeed an exemplary role model in the teaching profession; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 24

Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Martha Sosa

H.R. No. 474

- 1 of John F. Kennedy High School on being named an Edgewood
- 2 Independent School District 2005 Teacher of the Year and extend to
- 3 her best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Sosa as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Castro

TT	_	7. T	1 7 1
Н		NO	474

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 474 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House