By: Madden

H.R. No. 503

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Academic Decathlon team of Plano Senior High 2 School won the 2006 state championship and went on to place second 3 in the United States Academic Decathlon National Finals; and

WHEREAS, The Academic Decathlon program provides high school
students an opportunity to experience the challenges of rigorous
academic competition through participation in team activities; and

7 WHEREAS, Besting 39 other large-school teams in the state 8 meet, the Plano Senior High School group excelled in the 10-subject 9 contest, winning more than \$23,000 in scholarship money while 10 receiving 54 medals in the competition that included tests on such 11 varied subjects as economics, classical music, and the European 12 Renaissance; and

WHEREAS, On their school's first ever trip to the national competition, the team surprised perennial favorites to earn 25 individual medals, team medals in all ten events, and another \$1,750 in scholarships; and

WHEREAS, Team members include Aaditya Nagaraj, Jacob Turner, Alvin Chen, Diana Shen, Rebecca Chase, Lorelei Nguyen, Lisa Wang, Jenny Ding, and Erin Yu; these remarkable students were ably assisted in their efforts by coaches Sheila Kolb and Bill Borowicz, whose dedication and support were highly instrumental in the group's success; and

23 WHEREAS, Through hard work, determination, and a deep 24 devotion to academic excellence, the Plano team has compiled a

1

stellar record of achievement, and it is appropriate to take this
opportunity to honor them; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 503

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Plano Senior High School Academic Decathlon team on winning the state academic decathlon championship and on placing second at the national finals and extend to its members best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

2