H.R. No. 507

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of Texas
- 2 is pleased to recognize Manuel Z. Montes of Laredo, who was selected
- 3 Youth of the Year by a panel appointed by the United States Border
- 4 Patrol and KGNS TV; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Manuel was selected Youth of the Year from among
- 6 nine Youth of the Month winners; the title is given to outstanding
- 7 young people for academic achievements, community involvement, and
- 8 determination to succeed; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A graduating senior at Dr. Leo G. Cigarroa High
- 10 School, Manuel is a straight-A student and president of the
- 11 National Honor Society and Sociedad Honoraria Hispanica; he has
- 12 been a member of his high school's academics teams for four years
- and has earned numerous awards in music, science, and mathematics;
- 14 and
- WHEREAS, Manuel has been a vocalist with the Mariachi Azteca
- 16 Group I and has played with the Mighty Toro Band all through high
- school; he is a member of his church youth group and a volunteer in
- 18 the community, and his goal for the future is to become a
- 19 pediatrician; and
- WHEREAS, It is indeed a pleasure for the Texas House of
- 21 Representatives to recognize this fine young man for his
- 22 contributions to his school and community and his outstanding
- 23 scholarly accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th

H.R. No. 507

- 1 Legislature of the State of Texas, 3rd Called Session, hereby
- 2 commend Manuel Z. Montes on his exceptional achievements and
- 3 congratulate him on his selection as Youth of the Year; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for him as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 7 of Representatives.

Guillen

## H.R. No. 507

Craddick Giddings McReynolds Allen Gonzales Menendez Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Merritt Miller Anchia Goodman Anderson Goolsby Moreno Bailey Griggs Morrison Grusendorf Berman Mowery Blake Guillen Naishtat Haggerty Bohac Nixon Bonnen Hamilton Noriega Oliveira Branch Hamric Brown of Kaufman Hardcastle Olivo Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Orr Hartnett Otto Burnam Callegari Hegar Paxton Campbell Hernandez Pena Phillips Casteel Herrero Castro Hilderbran Pickett Chavez Hill Pitts Chisum Hochberg Puente Coleman Hodge Quintanilla Cook of Navarro Homer Raymond Cook of Colorado Норе Reyna Corte Riddle Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Crabb Ritter Howard of Travis Rodriguez Crownover Davis of Harris Hughes Rose Davis of Dallas Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Dawson Hupp Delisi Isett Denny Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Deshotel Solis Driver Jones of Dallas Solomons Dukes Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Dunnam Straus Keffer of Eastland Swinford Dutton King of Parker Edwards Talton Eiland King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Eissler Thompson Elkins Krusee Truitt Turner England Kuempel Escobar Laney Uresti Farabee Laubenberg Van Arsdale Veasey Farrar Leibowitz Villarreal Flores Luna Flynn Madden Vo Martinez West Frost Martinez Fischer Gallego Wong Woolley Gattis McCall

Zedler

McClendon

Geren

Н	ח	$N \cap$	E 0 7
$\neg$	ĸ	$ N  \cap$	- 111/

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 507 was adopted by the House on May 9, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House