## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The family and friends of Texas State Trooper 2 Eduardo "Edward" Chavez were deeply saddened by his death in the 3 line of duty on May 2, 2006, at the age of 30; and

WHEREAS, Born in Reynosa, Tamaulipas, Mexico, Trooper Chavez spent most of his life in Edinburg and graduated from Edinburg High School in 1994; formerly a deputy with the Hidalgo County Sheriff's Department, he joined the Texas Department of Public Safety in 2003 and was stationed at the Palmview DPS office at the time of his passing; and

10 WHEREAS, During his years on the force, Trooper Chavez built 11 a record of meritorious service, loyalty, personal bravery, and 12 self-sacrifice consistent with the high ideals of the law 13 enforcement profession; and

14 WHEREAS, A member of a family with a tradition in law 15 enforcement, Trooper Chavez is owed a debt of gratitude none can 16 repay, and his legacy of service will be remembered and honored for 17 years to come; and

18 WHEREAS, Representative Aaron Pena has justly honored the 19 memory of Trooper Chavez by authoring this resolution in his behalf 20 during the 3rd Called Session of the 79th Texas Legislature; now, 21 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of State Trooper Eduardo Chavez and extend sincere sympathy to the

1

members of his family: to his beloved wife, Iliana Chavez; to his parents, Enrique and Isabel Chavez; to his two brothers, Enrique Chavez and his wife, Beatriz, and German Chavez; to his sister, Monica Chavez; to his paternal grandparents, Enrique and Francisca Chavez; to his maternal grandmother, Odilia Lopez; to his nieces and nephew, Samantha, Felicia, Katie, Toni, and Enrique; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 10 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of State 11 Trooper Eduardo Chavez.

> Pena Gonzales Flores Martinez Guillen

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis Geren

Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon

McReynolds Menendez Merritt Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 511 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 9, 2006.

Chief Clerk of the House