H.R. No. 519

By: Madden

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Plano West Senior High School Lady Wolves 2 basketball team captured the state 5A championship with an 3 impressive come-from-behind win over the Rockwall Yellowjackets on 4 March 4, 2006, at the Frank Erwin Center in Austin; and

5 WHEREAS, Guided by Coach Don Patterson, the Lady Wolves 6 overcame an 18-13 halftime deficit and beat the Yellowjackets 7 54-47, thanks to the team's second-half dominance; Coach Patterson 8 received strong support from assistant coaches Kristen Perry and 9 Shera Starnes, who helped school the team in the importance of 10 hardwood fundamentals and teamwork; and

WHEREAS, Team members include championship game MVP Kathleen
Nash, Becca Feagin, Micah Garoutte, Rachel Hester, Lindsey Hughes,
Tawni Ichimura, Erika Kettler, Jenny Light, Katie Makanani, Alexis
Morgan, Kristen Nash, Mary Rich, and Taylor Shead; and

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the culmination of years of hard work and dedication in the pursuit of a singular goal, and the Lady Wolves will undoubtedly remember that moment in their lives for years to come; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 20 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Plano West 21 Lady Wolves basketball team on winning the 2006 5A state 22 championship and extend best wishes to Coach Don Patterson, his 23 players and staff, and the many individuals who contributed to this 24 noteworthy achievement; and, be it further

1

H.R. No. 519

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 2 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 3 House of Representatives.