H.R. No. 582

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Those Texans who dedicate themselves to the greater

good are truly deserving of our sincere admiration and gratitude,

and Korea and Vietnam veteran Ron Persing is indeed one such

4 individual; and

2

3

6

7

8

9

11

12

13

14

16

19

20

21

24

5 WHEREAS, A 26-year veteran of the U.S. Air Force, Mr. Persing

is a member of the Rio Grande Valley veterans group "America's Last

Patrol" and the American Legion; he is a six-time recipient of the

Air Medal and also earned the Distinguished Unit Medal during his

years of service; and

10 WHEREAS, In November 2005, Mr. Persing and a group of his

fellow servicemen marched from their community in the Rio Grande

Valley to the nearest veterans hospital; this veterans march

commenced in Edinburg, traversing some 250 miles to the historic

site of the Alamo in San Antonio; the march drew attention to the

15 plight of Valley veterans and the distance they are currently

forced to travel to seek medical treatment at a veterans hospital in

17 San Antonio; and

18 WHEREAS, In championing the construction of new medical

facilities to serve their community, Mr. Persing and his

compatriots seek to exercise the rights for which they fought and to

receive due recognition for their service to the country they love;

22 and

WHEREAS, Representative Aaron Pena has justly recognized Ron

Persing by authoring this resolution in his behalf during the 3rd

H.R. No. 582

Called Session of the 79th Texas Legislature; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby honor Ron Persing for his

distinguished military service and for his efforts to secure better

access to medical care for his fellow veterans; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

prepared for Mr. Persing as an expression of high regard by the

Texas House of Representatives.

Pena

H.R. No. 582

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 582 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House