H.R. No. 595

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The conclusion of Kimball W. Brizendine's 2 outstanding tenure as mayor of Friendswood in May 2006 presents a 3 welcome opportunity to honor him for his service; and

WHEREAS, A resident of Friendswood for two decades, Mayor 4 5 Brizendine has worked tirelessly in behalf of his community; a city 6 council member from 1998 to 2003, he served as mayor pro-tem from 2000-2001 and as a liaison to several committees, including Parks 7 Recreation, the Library Board, the Galveston County 8 and Consolidated Drainage District, and the Main Street Task Force; he 9 also represented Friendswood as the Home Owners Association's 10 11 liaison for all of the HOAs in the city; he was elected mayor in 12 2003; and

WHEREAS, This 1975 graduate of The University of Texas at Austin has made significant contributions to the betterment of education in his community as well; he has volunteered much time and energy to the Friendswood ISD, working as a board trustee, a member of the Friendswood Education Improvement Committee, and a leader in the bond election; and

WHEREAS, In addition to being a committed public servant, Mayor Brizendine is a devoted husband to his wife, Jo Beth, who has taught in the Friendswood ISD for 26 years, as well as a loving dad to two children, Ben and Rachel; and

23 WHEREAS, Kim Brizendine entered public service determined to 24 make his hometown a better place, and he may indeed reflect with

1

H.R. No. 595

1 great pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend Kimball W.
Brizendine for his dedicated service as mayor of Friendswood and
extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mayor Brizendine as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Taylor

H.R. No. 595

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 595 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House