H.R. No. 618

By: Keel

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Bowie High School boys' varsity lacrosse team 2 has won the Central District Division II championship title for the 3 first time in the school's history; and

WHEREAS, Compiling a 10-0 season record, the Bowie lacrosse team defeated St. Stephen's 12-7 to claim the coveted district crown; the championship game's most valuable player was Bowie senior Matt Malcolm; and

8 WHEREAS, This outstanding lacrosse squad includes eight 2006 9 all-stars as well as 12 seniors who will be missed: Aaron Ashbee, 10 West Ashley, Paul Bowden, Arin Cunningham, Josh Demers, Kel Gibson, 11 Wes Koch, Matt Malcolm, Jake McGregor, Caleb Pirtle, Ryan Skeen, 12 and AJ Watson; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Ben Figueroa, Dominic Alferi, and Jason Morillo schooled their charges in the finer points of the game while instilling in them the values of hard work, dedication, and good sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, A division championship represents countless hours of practice and an unrelenting commitment to excellence, and the memory of this achievement will undoubtedly remain with these talented athletes for years to come; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 22 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Bowie High 23 School boys' varsity lacrosse team on winning the Central District 24 Division II championship and extend to the coaches and players best

1

H.R. No. 618

1 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 4 House of Representatives.