H.R. No. 620

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For the past 40 years, the Burleson Area Chamber of 2 Commerce has proved to be an exceptional force in promoting the 3 economic vitality of its community; and

WHEREAS, The decision to organize this chamber of commerce was made in 1965 by 75 members of the Burleson Lions Club; Jack Taylor, a longtime local businessman, and County Judge Herschel C. Winn drafted the charter and by-laws for the chamber, which was

officially founded on April 18, 1966; and

WHEREAS, Among the activities sponsored by the chamber are Honeyfest, which drew more than 10,000 visitors in 2005, an annual community auction, and a program to teach leadership and the importance of community involvement to high school students; the chamber also hosts the Burleson Making It Happen Foundation, a nonprofit organization that works to support the arts, education, leadership education, business development, and character development; and

WHEREAS, One of the fastest-growing chambers in the United States and Canada, the Burleson chamber has twice won the National Chamber of the Year Award of Excellence; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to encouraging business growth and enhancing the quality of life for area citizens, the Burleson chamber is shaping the development of its community in myriad ways, and it is a pleasure to commend this outstanding organization for its vision, commitment, and dynamic leadership; now, therefore, be

H.R. No. 620

1 it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

3 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby honor the Burleson Area

4 Chamber of Commerce on its 40th anniversary and extend to all its

5 members sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it

6 further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

8 prepared for the Burleson Area Chamber of Commerce as an expression

9 of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Zedler

| Н | D | $N \cap$ | 620 |
|---|---|----------|-----|

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 620 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House