By: Herrero H.R. No. 624

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, More than 750 students from throughout the Coastal 2 Bend region competed for ribbons and medals in the 18th annual

- 3 Coastal Bend Science Fair on April 28-30, 2006; and
- WHEREAS, Hosted by the College of Science and Technology at
- 5 Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi, the fair included projects in
- 6 the categories of engineering/physical science, earth science, and
- 7 life/health science, that were created by students enrolled in
- 8 kindergarten through the eighth grade who had already earned
- 9 recognition in their respective school districts; prizes ranged
- 10 from trophies to \$1,000 scholarships; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Kindergarten winners include the following
- 12 individuals: Rodger Neuberger, Ray Hallgarth, Annalisa Herrero,
- and Hailey Schuetz; in addition, Agribusiness Council Award winners
- 14 were McKenzie Baldree, Hailey Schuetz, and Elianna Trevino; and
- WHEREAS, First-grade winners include the following
- 16 individuals: Abram Hernandez, Dunnesha Foxworth, Anthony Rivera,
- 17 Dylan Ochoa, and Michael Robinson; Agribusiness Council Award
- 18 winners were Kasey Sullivan and Michael Robinson; Best of Grade
- award winner was Abram Hernandez; Fred B. Jones Botany Award winner
- 20 was Michael Robinson; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Second-grade winners include the following
- individuals: Jenna Clark, Alex Hartman, and Isabela McCabe; Best of
- 23 Grade Second Place award winner was Jenna Clark; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Third-grade winners include the following

H.R. No. 624

- 1 individuals: Madison Rawls, Rebecca Lancaster, Caitlin Green, Ryan
- 2 Zepeda, Alyssa Ruiz, and Sarah Garza; Agribusiness Council Award
- 3 winners were Sarah Garza and Alyssa Ruiz; Best of Grade and Best of
- 4 Show award winner in the kindergarten through fourth-grade category
- 5 was Madison Rawls; Dr. H. Nellie Mireles Physics Award winner was
- 6 Ross Lambert; Fred B. Jones Botany Award winner was Carla Cabrera;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, Fourth-grade winners include the following
- 9 individuals: Allyson Trejo, Hannah McNeese, Cade Boyd, Jacob
- 10 Reinhard, and Mary Heatherley; Agribusiness Council Award winners
- 11 were Ross Sullivan, Victoria Garza, and Heather Munoz; Best of
- 12 Grade award winners were Allyson Trejo, second place, and Mary
- 13 Heatherley, third place; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Fifth-grade winners include the following
- 15 individuals: Chase Hosea, Rachel Pesek, Kara Junttila, Maddie
- 16 Bales, Julia Cheesman, Abhinar Bannerjee, Eric Matthews, and Julie
- 17 Moore; Best of Grade Second Place award winner was Eric Matthews;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, Sixth-grade winners include the following
- 20 individuals: Sarah Ward, Keely Coburn, Danielle Lompe, and Robert
- 21 Gonzalez; Best of Grade award winners were Keely Coburn, first
- 22 place, and Robert Gonzalez, second place; Fred B. Jones Botany
- 23 Award winner was Clarissa Garcia; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Seventh-grade winners include the following
- 25 individuals: C. J. Gomez, Patrick Burns, Laura Flynn, and Madelyn
- 26 Kelly; Agribusiness Council Award winner was Jordan Kudlick; Best
- 27 of Grade award winners were Patrick Burns, second place, and Laura

H.R. No. 624

- 1 Flynn and Madelyn Kelly, third place; Agribusiness Council and Fred
- 2 B. Jones Botany Award winners were Tiana Meyer and Britain Shaw; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Eighth-grade winners include the following
- 4 individuals: David Dawod, Alexander Merritt, and Omar Longoria;
- 5 Agribusiness Council Award winner was Madeline Bryce; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Nueces County Medical Alliance Award winners were
- 7 Mary Heatherley, Eric Matthews, Mackenzie Thering, and Mireya
- 8 Puenta; and
- 9 WHEREAS, These outstanding young Texans are a source of pride
- 10 to their families, schools, and communities, and their hard work
- 11 and ingenuity indeed merit praise and admiration; now, therefore,
- 12 be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 14 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the 2006
- 15 Coastal Bend Science Fair winners and extend to them sincere best
- 16 wishes for the future.