H.R. No. 661

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Franklin D. Roosevelt High School boys'
- 2 basketball team won the 2006 3A state championship title; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The Mustangs soundly defeated Carrollton Ranchview
- 4 62-46 to claim the school's first state crown since 1972; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Contributing to this total team effort were Isaac
- 6 Okpe, Demarcus Johnson, Kenneth Brantley, Gabriel Harrison, Kevin
- 7 Thomas, LaMarcus West, George Phillips, Vincent McNeil, Cedric
- 8 Robinson, Dewanzell Day, Kadeem Craddock, Jeffrey Warfield,
- 9 Demontra Brandon, and Danny Hogan; and
- 10 WHEREAS, These outstanding student-athletes were schooled in
- 11 the finer points of the game by head coach Stanford Hill, Jr., who
- was ably assisted by coaches Roderick Johnson and Damien Mobley, as
- 13 well as by statistician O. J. Wright and ball girl Briana N. Hill;
- 14 the entire Mustang squad also enjoyed the unwavering support of
- 15 athletic director Earnest James, school principal Leon Dudley, dean
- 16 Cheree Curlin, and assistant principals Seaborn Phillips and
- 17 Anthony Jefferson; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Demonstrating the athleticism, talent, and
- 19 dedication of true champions, the members of the Roosevelt boys'
- 20 basketball team are a source of tremendous pride to their school,
- 21 their families, and all of their supporters in the community; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Franklin

H.R. No. 661

- 1 D. Roosevelt High School Mustangs on winning the 2006 3A state
- 2 championship and extend to the players and coaches best wishes for
- 3 continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Jones of Dallas

H.R. No. 661

Craddick Giddings McReynolds Allen Gonzales Menendez Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Merritt Miller Anchia Goodman Anderson Goolsby Moreno Bailey Griggs Morrison Grusendorf Berman Mowery Blake Guillen Naishtat Bohac Haggerty Nixon Bonnen Hamilton Noriega Oliveira Branch Hamric Brown of Kaufman Hardcastle Olivo Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Orr Hartnett Otto Burnam Callegari Hegar Paxton Hernandez Campbell Pena Phillips Casteel Herrero Castro Hilderbran Pickett Chavez Hill Pitts Chisum Hochberg Puente Coleman Hodge Quintanilla Cook of Navarro Homer Raymond Cook of Colorado Норе Reyna Riddle Corte Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Crabb Ritter Howard of Travis Rodriguez Crownover Davis of Harris Hughes Rose Davis of Dallas Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Dawson Hupp Delisi Isett Denny Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Deshotel Solis Jones of Dallas Solomons Driver Dukes Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Dunnam Straus Keffer of Eastland Swinford Dutton King of Parker Edwards Talton Eiland King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Eissler Thompson Elkins Krusee Truitt Turner England Kuempel Escobar Laney Uresti Farabee Laubenberg Van Arsdale Veasey Farrar Leibowitz Villarreal Flores Luna Flynn Madden Vo Martinez West Frost Gallego Martinez Fischer Wong Woolley Gattis McCall

Zedler

McClendon

Geren

	_	3.7	\sim \sim 1
Н		$N \cap .$	
			nnı

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 661 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House