By: Jones of Dallas

H.R. No. 661

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Franklin D. Roosevelt High School boys'
- 2 basketball team won the 2006 3A state championship title; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The Mustangs soundly defeated Carrollton Ranchview
- 4 62-46 to claim the school's first state crown since 1972; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Contributing to this total team effort were Isaac
- 6 Okpe, Demarcus Johnson, Kenneth Brantley, Gabriel Harrison, Kevin
- 7 Thomas, LaMarcus West, George Phillips, Vincent McNeil, Cedric
- 8 Robinson, Dewanzell Day, Kadeem Craddock, Jeffrey Warfield,
- 9 Demontra Brandon, and Danny Hogan; and
- 10 WHEREAS, These outstanding student-athletes were schooled in
- 11 the finer points of the game by head coach Stanford Hill, Jr., who
- 12 was ably assisted by coaches Roderick Johnson and Damien Mobley, as
- 13 well as by statistician O. J. Wright and ball girl Briana N. Hill;
- 14 the entire Mustang squad also enjoyed the unwavering support of
- 15 athletic director Earnest James, school principal Leon Dudley, dean
- 16 Cheree Curlin, and assistant principals Seaborn Phillips and
- 17 Anthony Jefferson; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Demonstrating the athleticism, talent, and
- 19 dedication of true champions, the members of the Roosevelt boys'
- 20 basketball team are a source of tremendous pride to their school,
- 21 their families, and all of their supporters in the community; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 24 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Franklin

H.R. No. 661

- 1 D. Roosevelt High School Mustangs on winning the 2006 3A state
- 2 championship and extend to the players and coaches best wishes for
- 3 continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.