H.R. No. 686

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Head football coach and athletic director Phil
Danaher of Calallen High School reached an impressive milestone on
September 9, 2005, when he recorded his 300th career victory; and

WHEREAS, Coach Danaher began his coaching career serving 4 5 three years as an assistant coach at San Antonio Edison; he then 6 became athletic director and head coach in Dilley, where he amassed a 25-15-2 record in four years; after leaving Dilley and before 7 Calallen, he transformed 8 arriving at an underachieving Hamshire-Fannett athletic program into a successful organization 9 which garnered three football championships and twice earned 10 11 runner-up honors; and

12 WHEREAS, During his impressive 22-year tenure with Calallen, 13 Coach Danaher has posted an outstanding 244-45-2 record; his teams, 14 which have made the playoffs for the past 21 consecutive seasons, 15 set a state record of 16 consecutive seasons winning 10 or more 16 games, racked up 55 straight district wins, and appeared in the 17 state semifinals in seven of the last nine years; and

WHEREAS, Coach Danaher tallied his 300th victory by defeating Waco 35-14, making him only the fourth coach in Texas high school football history to accomplish this feat; and

21 WHEREAS, A source of tremendous pride to the Calallen High 22 School community, Coach Danaher has secured his place in the annals 23 of high school football history, and it is indeed a pleasure to 24 recognize such an achievement; now, therefore, be it

1

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Coach Phil Danaher of Calallen High School on his 300th win and extend to him best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Coach Danaher as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

Herrero

H.R. No. 686

H.R. No. 686

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 686 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House