RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The School for the Talented and Gifted at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center in the Dallas Independent School District has been named the nation's top public school by Newsweek magazine, and this significant achievement is a tribute to the dedicated individuals whose efforts have created a superior environment for this magnet school's student body; and WHEREAS, Newsweek ranked 1,139 schools using a formula based on the number of graduating seniors and the number of Advanced

on the number of graduating seniors and the number of Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate tests taken by their students; the ranking is designed to recognize those schools that best prepare their students for higher education; and

WHEREAS, In addition to earning this exceptional accolade, the School for the Talented and Gifted was, not surprisingly, also named the top public high school in Dallas in the April 2006 issue of D magazine; and

WHEREAS, School principal F. Michael Satarino and his faculty and staff have done an admirable job in their challenging roles, and they and the school's student body are most deserving of special praise for their hard work and dedication in the pursuit of academic excellence; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the School for the Talented and Gifted at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center on its selection as Newsweek magazine's 2006 top public high school in the

- 1 nation and extend best wishes to the many individuals affiliated
- 2 with this outstanding educational facility; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives.

Hodge

Craddick Giddings McReynolds Allen Gonzales Menendez Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Merritt Miller Anchia Goodman Anderson Goolsby Moreno Bailey Griggs Morrison Grusendorf Berman Mowery Blake Guillen Naishtat Bohac Haggerty Nixon Bonnen Hamilton Noriega Oliveira Branch Hamric Brown of Kaufman Hardcastle Olivo Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Orr Hartnett Otto Burnam Callegari Hegar Paxton Campbell Hernandez Pena Phillips Casteel Herrero Castro Hilderbran Pickett Chavez Hill Pitts Chisum Hochberg Puente Coleman Hodge Quintanilla Cook of Navarro Homer Raymond Cook of Colorado Норе Reyna Riddle Corte Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Crabb Ritter Howard of Travis Rodriguez Crownover Davis of Harris Hughes Rose Davis of Dallas Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Dawson Hupp Delisi Isett Denny Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Deshotel Solis Jones of Dallas Solomons Driver Dukes Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Dunnam Straus Keffer of Eastland Swinford Dutton King of Parker Edwards Talton Eiland King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Eissler Thompson Elkins Krusee Truitt Turner England Kuempel Escobar Laney Uresti Farabee Laubenberg Van Arsdale Veasey Farrar Leibowitz Villarreal Flores Luna Flynn Madden Vo Martinez West Frost Gallego Martinez Fischer Wong Woolley Gattis McCall

Zedler

McClendon

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 701 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House