RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Frank L. Madla, state senator for 2 District 19, has rendered exceptional service to the people of 3 Texas during his notable 33-year tenure in the Texas Legislature;

4 and

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

5 WHEREAS, First elected to the Texas House of Representatives 6 in 1973, Senator Madla served 20 years in that chamber before taking the oath of office in the Texas Senate; he presently chairs the 7 Senate Committee on Intergovernmental Relations and sits on the 8 Senate Committees on Natural Resources, State Affairs, 9 Transportation and Homeland Security; and 10

WHEREAS, This distinguished Texan has devoted his efforts particularly to the advancement of health, education, and economic development; he has played an instrumental role in the creation of the Epilepsy Center of South Texas, the Office of Rural Health Care, the In-Home and Family Support Program, and the Children's Health Program; he has also worked successfully to help pass legislation that expands the scope of practice for physician assistants in rural Texas; and

WHEREAS, Senator Madla has promoted access to higher education and has been a staunch friend of small and rural school districts, and his support has been crucial in the development of a gifted and talented program for Texas students; thanks to legislation that he advocated, UIL regional and state events can no longer be held at the same time that the TAKS tests are being given;

- 1 and
- 2 WHEREAS, Committed to promoting economic opportunity for
- 3 Texas workers, Senator Madla has helped to secure the location of a
- 4 new Toyota plant in San Antonio, facilitate the conversion of Kelly
- 5 Air Force Base, and enable Texas grape growers and wine producers to
- 6 compete at the national level; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Among the numerous accolades conferred on Senator
- 8 Madla have been awards from The University of Texas at San Antonio
- 9 Hispanic Research Center, Texas Hospital Association, Texas Police
- 10 Chiefs Association, Association of Rural Communities in Texas, and
- 11 Texas Medicine magazine; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Frank Madla holds bachelor's and master's degrees
- 13 from St. Mary's University and in private life works as a consultant
- 14 and insurance broker; he and his wife, Helen, take great pride in
- 15 their children, Marci and Frank, a physician, and in their
- 16 granddaughter, Aleena; and
- WHEREAS, Representing a district that extends from southern
- 18 El Paso County to southern Bexar County, Senator Madla has made many
- 19 positive contributions to the betterment of the state, and it is
- 20 most appropriate to take this opportunity to honor his longstanding
- 21 efforts in behalf of his fellow Texans; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 23 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the
- 24 Honorable Frank L. Madla for his more than three decades of service
- in the Texas Legislature and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 26 the future; and, be it further
- 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for Senator Madla as an expression of high regard by the
- 2 Texas House of Representatives.

Puente Corte King of Zavala Martinez Fischer Menendez Straus West Castro Gallego Leibowitz McClendon Quintanilla Uresti

Craddick Giddings McReynolds Allen Gonzales Menendez Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Merritt Miller Anchia Goodman Anderson Goolsby Moreno Bailey Griggs Morrison Grusendorf Berman Mowery Blake Guillen Naishtat Haggerty Bohac Nixon Bonnen Hamilton Noriega Oliveira Branch Hamric Brown of Kaufman Hardcastle Olivo Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Orr Hartnett Otto Burnam Callegari Hegar Paxton Hernandez Campbell Pena Phillips Casteel Herrero Castro Hilderbran Pickett Chavez Hill Pitts Chisum Hochberg Puente Coleman Hodge Quintanilla Cook of Navarro Homer Raymond Cook of Colorado Норе Reyna Riddle Corte Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Crabb Ritter Howard of Travis Rodriguez Crownover Davis of Harris Hughes Rose Davis of Dallas Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Dawson Hupp Delisi Isett Denny Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Deshotel Solis Jones of Dallas Solomons Driver Dukes Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Dunnam Straus Keffer of Eastland Swinford Dutton King of Parker Edwards Talton Eiland King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Eissler Thompson Elkins Krusee Truitt Turner England Kuempel Escobar Laney Uresti Farabee Laubenberg Van Arsdale Veasey Farrar Leibowitz Villarreal Flores Luna Flynn Madden Vo Martinez West Frost Gallego Martinez Fischer Wong Woolley Gattis McCall

Zedler

McClendon

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 723 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House