H.R. No. 737

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Comstock High School UIL social studies team won

the Class A state championship on May 5, 2006, and this victory

marks the second statewide win for this West Texas school in three

4 years; and

2

3

7

9

12

14

15

17

23

5 WHEREAS, Under the guidance of coach Val Acree, team members

6 Amara Greene, Brent Greene, Adrienna Guajardo, and Graydon

Richardson garnered district and regional titles before moving on

8 to the state meet in Austin; in the individual category, Ms. Greene

won sixth place, followed by Mr. Greene in eighth, Ms. Guajardo in

10 10th, and Mr. Richardson in 16th; and

11 WHEREAS, This year's competition focused on the European

front of World War II, and in becoming experts on this crucial

13 chapter in human history, the Comstock team members sharpened and

strengthened their understanding of events whose ramifications

continue to be felt throughout the world; and

16 WHEREAS, Those young people who dedicate themselves to the

pursuit of educational excellence are truly deserving of the

18 admiration of every Texan, and these four students are undoubtedly

19 a source of tremendous pride to their school, their families, and

20 their community; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

22 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the members of

the Comstock UIL state champion social studies team and their coach

24 and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and,

H.R. No. 737

- 1 be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 4 House of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 737

Craddick Giddings McReynolds Allen Gonzales Menendez Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Merritt Miller Anchia Goodman Anderson Goolsby Moreno Bailey Griggs Morrison Grusendorf Berman Mowery Blake Guillen Naishtat Haggerty Bohac Nixon Bonnen Hamilton Noriega Oliveira Branch Hamric Brown of Kaufman Hardcastle Olivo Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Orr Hartnett Otto Burnam Callegari Hegar Paxton Campbell Hernandez Pena Phillips Casteel Herrero Castro Hilderbran Pickett Chavez Hill Pitts Chisum Hochberg Puente Coleman Hodge Quintanilla Cook of Navarro Homer Raymond Cook of Colorado Норе Reyna Corte Riddle Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Crabb Ritter Howard of Travis Rodriguez Crownover Davis of Harris Hughes Rose Davis of Dallas Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Dawson Hupp Delisi Isett Denny Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Deshotel Solis Jones of Dallas Solomons Driver Dukes Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Dunnam Straus Keffer of Eastland Swinford Dutton King of Parker Edwards Talton Eiland King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Eissler Thompson Elkins Krusee Truitt Turner England Kuempel Escobar Laney Uresti Farabee Laubenberg Van Arsdale Veasey Farrar Leibowitz Villarreal Flores Luna Flynn Madden Vo Martinez West Frost Gallego Martinez Fischer Wong Woolley Gattis McCall McClendon

Zedler

Geren

H	D	No.	727
	- 17 -	111() -	/) /

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 737 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House