RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Several outstanding student-athletes and one
- 2 longtime teacher were deservedly honored at the 2006 Sul Ross State
- 3 University Athletic Banquet; and
- WHEREAS, The athletics department's Scholar-Athlete Award
- 5 was presented to seniors Emerald Setzler and Daniel Sharp; Ms.
- 6 Setzler is a four-year member of the Lady Lobos volleyball team,
- 7 while Mr. Sharp enjoyed an excellent career on the school's
- 8 football team; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The 2006 Sportsmanship Award went to Kym Kyzar, who
- 10 has been a leader in the classroom and on the school's softball and
- 11 basketball teams; Mr. Sharp was the other recipient of this year's
- 12 Sportsmanship Award, having shown himself to be a selfless team
- 13 player on the gridiron; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Athlete of the Year honors went to Ms. Setzler and
- 15 basketball standout Sid Hooper, who close their collegiate careers
- 16 as outstanding senior players; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The athletics department also paid tribute to
- 18 longtime history professor Dr. Wayne Sheehan, whose myriad
- 19 contributions to the department range from serving as official
- 20 scorer and timekeeper to acting as faculty athletics representative
- 21 for more than 20 years; and
- 22 WHEREAS, In honoring these individuals, the Sul Ross
- 23 community acknowledges the significant role they have played in
- 24 campus life, enriching the lives of others while performing to the

- 1 best of their own abilities; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 3 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the honorees
- 4 of the Sul Ross State University Athletic Banquet and extend best
- 5 wishes to each of them for continued success in all their endeavors;
- 6 and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the award recipients as an expression of high regard by
- 9 the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Giddings McReynolds Allen Gonzales Menendez Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Merritt Miller Anchia Goodman Anderson Goolsby Moreno Bailey Griggs Morrison Grusendorf Berman Mowery Blake Guillen Naishtat Bohac Haggerty Nixon Bonnen Hamilton Noriega Oliveira Branch Hamric Brown of Kaufman Hardcastle Olivo Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Orr Hartnett Otto Burnam Callegari Hegar Paxton Hernandez Campbell Pena Phillips Casteel Herrero Castro Hilderbran Pickett Chavez Hill Pitts Chisum Hochberg Puente Coleman Hodge Quintanilla Cook of Navarro Homer Raymond Cook of Colorado Норе Reyna Riddle Corte Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Crabb Ritter Howard of Travis Rodriguez Crownover Davis of Harris Hughes Rose Davis of Dallas Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Dawson Hupp Delisi Isett Denny Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Deshotel Solis Jones of Dallas Solomons Driver Dukes Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Dunnam Straus Keffer of Eastland Swinford Dutton King of Parker Edwards Talton Eiland King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Eissler Thompson Elkins Krusee Truitt Turner England Kuempel Escobar Laney Uresti Farabee Laubenberg Van Arsdale Veasey Farrar Leibowitz Villarreal Flores Luna Flynn Madden Vo Martinez West Frost Gallego Martinez Fischer Wong Woolley Gattis McCall

Zedler

McClendon

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 738 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House