RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Julie Ramos Gonzales was recently accorded a great honor by being chosen to serve as a grand marshal of the Cinco de Mayo parade in Alpine; and

WHEREAS, The theme of this year's event paid tribute to vaqueros and the vital role they have played in the area's rich history; and

WHEREAS, Chosen for her lasting contributions to the Hispanic community, Mrs. Ramos Gonzales has enjoyed a lifelong love affair with the vaquero way of life, growing up around horses at her grandmother's ranch and getting her own colt, Trigger, when she was only five; she was soon running barrels and roping goats in rodeos; she became a member of the American Rodeo Association and went to several national competitions; she was in the top three female ropers in her final year of competition and altogether won seven all-around championship titles; and

WHEREAS, A life in the saddle was eventually replaced by a successful real-estate career, but this wife, mother, and grandmother continues to enjoy riding and reminiscing about her days as a cowgirl, and it is indeed a pleasure at this time to recognize her for her many achievements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Julie Ramos Gonzales on being named a grand marshal of the 2006 Cinco de Mayo parade in Alpine and extend to her best wishes for the future; and,

- 1 be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for Mrs. Ramos Gonzales as an expression of high regard by
- 4 the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Giddings McReynolds Allen Gonzales Menendez Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Merritt Miller Anchia Goodman Anderson Goolsby Moreno Bailey Griggs Morrison Grusendorf Berman Mowery Blake Guillen Naishtat Haggerty Bohac Nixon Bonnen Hamilton Noriega Oliveira Branch Hamric Brown of Kaufman Hardcastle Olivo Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Orr Hartnett Otto Burnam Callegari Hegar Paxton Campbell Hernandez Pena Phillips Casteel Herrero Castro Hilderbran Pickett Chavez Hill Pitts Chisum Hochberg Puente Coleman Hodge Quintanilla Cook of Navarro Homer Raymond Cook of Colorado Норе Reyna Corte Riddle Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Crabb Ritter Howard of Travis Rodriguez Crownover Davis of Harris Hughes Rose Davis of Dallas Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Dawson Hupp Delisi Isett Denny Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Deshotel Solis Jones of Dallas Solomons Driver Dukes Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Dunnam Straus Keffer of Eastland Swinford Dutton King of Parker Edwards Talton Eiland King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Eissler Thompson Elkins Krusee Truitt Turner England Kuempel Escobar Laney Uresti Farabee Laubenberg Van Arsdale Veasey Farrar Leibowitz Villarreal Flores Luna Flynn Madden Vo Martinez West Frost Gallego Martinez Fischer Wong Woolley Gattis McCall

Zedler

McClendon

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 739 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House