H.R. No. 744

By: Branch

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The varsity lacrosse squad of St. Mark's School of 2 Texas in Dallas enjoyed its finest season ever in 2006, finishing 3 the regular season undefeated and ranked number one in the Lone Star 4 State; and

5 WHEREAS, The Lions, who will play in the Lax.com National 6 Championship Tournament in New York in June, are ranked 27th in the 7 nation and are one of just 16 teams invited to compete in the 8 national championship tournament; and

9 WHEREAS, Averaging 13.2 goals per game, while holding 10 opponents to just 7.5 goals per game, the Lions scored impressive 11 victories over Highland Park and Episcopal School of Dallas during 12 the 2006 campaign; the team also had an opportunity to compete 13 against the nation's top team, the Boys' Latin School of Maryland, 14 in a competitive 18-11 match during its spring break visit to 15 Florida; and

16 WHEREAS, The team demonstrated remarkable courage by 17 overcoming the loss of all-state goalkeeper and beloved teammate 18 Brendan Court, whose memory helped drive the Lions to their third 19 consecutive SPC Championship and a sterling 14-1 overall record; 20 and

WHEREAS, Team members include Holt Cutler, Kaleb Deslorieux,
Charlie Dorsaneo, Matthew Eberhart, George Jordan, Robert Neely,
Spencer Orenstein, Spencer Branch, Michael Bullard, David Gilberg,
Hawkins Golden, Luke Kline, George Lauinger, Hollis Meyer, Zach

1

H.R. No. 744

Streit, Heath Townsend, Jett Aubrey, James Blair, Arthur Brousseau,
 Mark Butler, Michael Chavez, Forest Compton, Florian Dhondt, John
 Bryant, Chris Eubank, Stephen Friedberg, Charlie Goodman, Austin
 Ham, Drew Nicholas, and Justin Utay; and

5 WHEREAS, Coach Hayward Lee guided the team to great success 6 in 2006, and he was ably supported in the pursuit of excellence by 7 assistant coach Byron Lawson, trainer Doc Browning, athletic 8 director Mark Sullivan, and headmaster Arnie Holtberg; in addition, 9 Dr. Doug Turgeon, Josh Friesen, Ron Turner, the St. Mark's 10 maintenance staff, and team mom Carole Jordan contributed to the 11 team's notable achievements; and

WHEREAS, Several players received postseason accolades, including all-state honorees Matthew Eberhart, George Jordan, and Spencer Branch; all-district honorees Robert Neely, George Lauinger, and Heath Townsend; and honorable mention all-district honorees Holt Cutler, Charlie Dorsaneo, Kaleb Deslorieux, and Hollis Meyer; in addition, Mr. Eberhart, Mr. Jordan, Mr. Neely, Mr. Branch, and Mr. Meyer earned all-SPC recognition; and

WHEREAS, With the national tournament just a few weeks away, the St. Mark's Lions are poised to extend their memorable season and continue to make school history, and the members of this chamber are proud to wish them well as they represent the Lone Star State in New York this June; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Coach Hayward Lee and the St. Mark's varsity lacrosse team on their outstanding season and extend best wishes to the many individuals who

2

H.R. No. 744

1 contributed to the team's success; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 4 House of Representatives.