RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Richard Daly is retiring as executive director of 2 the Texas Catholic Conference on June 30, 2006, drawing to a close 3 more than 30 years of service to that organization; and

WHEREAS, Initially hired by the TCC in 1974 as its education 4 5 director, Brother Daly was promoted to associate director four 6 years later, and in 1979 he assumed his current position as 7 executive director; and

WHEREAS, The TCC is the association of the state's 15 Roman Catholic dioceses, and in his role as its director, Brother Daly has been responsible for overseeing cooperation and collaboration between the dioceses as well as for representing the TCC before the Texas Legislature, the Texas delegation in Congress, and various state agencies in relevant public policy issues; and

WHEREAS, Under his supervision, the TCC administers numerous education programs, the annual General Assembly, the Catholic Archives of Texas, the state's Catholic school accreditations, and the coordination of 20 departments within the conference; and

WHEREAS, A member of the South-West Province of Congregation of Holy Cross and a 1961 graduate of St. Edward's University, Brother Daly spent 12 years as an educator, including eight years in Wichita Falls as a high school teacher and principal; in 1972, he returned to his alma mater to work as assistant to the president and director of university relations; following two years

24 with St. Edward's, he was hired by the TCC; and

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

WHEREAS, He has continued his affiliation with St. Edward's by serving as a trustee and as an occasional adjunct instructor in history and political science; a member of the National Association of State Catholic Conference Directors, which he has served as president, Brother Daly also shares his expertise as a trustee of the Oblate School of Theology in San Antonio, a board member of the Southwest Educational Development Laboratory, and a counselor for the Provincial Council of the South-West Province; and

WHEREAS, The Catholic Conference of Texas is addressing issues of vital importance not only to the state's growing Catholic population but also to all Texans, and for the past three decades, Brother Daly has indeed served his organization and the state well; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend Brother Richard Daly on his outstanding service as executive director of the Texas Catholic Conference and extend to him sincere best wishes for happiness and success in all his future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Brother Daly as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Olivo

Craddick Giddings McReynolds Allen Gonzales Menendez Gonzalez Toureilles Alonzo Merritt Miller Anchia Goodman Anderson Goolsby Moreno Bailey Griggs Morrison Grusendorf Berman Mowery Blake Guillen Naishtat Bohac Haggerty Nixon Bonnen Hamilton Noriega Oliveira Branch Hamric Brown of Kaufman Hardcastle Olivo Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Orr Hartnett Otto Burnam Callegari Hegar Paxton Hernandez Campbell Pena Phillips Casteel Herrero Castro Hilderbran Pickett Chavez Hill Pitts Chisum Hochberg Puente Coleman Hodge Quintanilla Cook of Navarro Homer Raymond Cook of Colorado Норе Reyna Riddle Corte Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Crabb Ritter Howard of Travis Rodriguez Crownover Davis of Harris Hughes Rose Davis of Dallas Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Dawson Hupp Delisi Isett Denny Jackson Smithee Jones of Lubbock Deshotel Solis Jones of Dallas Solomons Driver Dukes Keel Strama Keffer of Dallas Dunnam Straus Keffer of Eastland Swinford Dutton King of Parker Edwards Talton Eiland King of Zavala Taylor Kolkhorst Eissler Thompson Elkins Krusee Truitt Turner England Kuempel Escobar Laney Uresti Farabee Laubenberg Van Arsdale Veasey Farrar Leibowitz Villarreal Flores Luna Flynn Madden Vo Martinez West Frost Gallego Martinez Fischer Wong Woolley Gattis McCall

Zedler

McClendon

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 768 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House