RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The retirement of the Honorable Ken Armbrister from 2 the Texas Senate brings to a close a productive and memorable tenure 3 as a member of the Texas Legislature, and it is fitting to recognize 4 this esteemed legislator for his myriad contributions to the State 5 of Texas; and

6 WHEREAS, A former police captain with the Victoria Police 7 Department and a graduate of Sam Houston State University and the 8 FBI National Academy, Senator Armbrister was serving as vice 9 president of the Victoria School Board when he was elected to the 10 Texas House of Representatives in 1983; his two terms in the house 11 were followed by election to the Texas Senate, where he has ably 12 served for the better part of two decades; and

13 WHEREAS, Senator Armbrister is the immediate past chairman of 14 the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and the Senate Select Committee on Water Policy, and he has authored, sponsored, and 15 noteworthy bills aimed at 16 cosponsored several protecting species and creating groundwater conservation 17 endangered districts; in addition, he has endeavored to increase retirement 18 benefits for Texas teachers, provide greater public access to 19 governmental information and decisions, and increase homestead 20 21 exemptions for homeowners; and

22 WHEREAS, During his illustrious legislative career, this 23 noted public servant has chaired the Senate Committees on Criminal 24 Justice, Intergovernmental Relations, and State Affairs, as well as

1

1 the Oversight Committee on Workers' Compensation; he has also been 2 a member of the Senate Committees on Finance, Business and 3 Commerce, Health and Human Services, and Economic Development; and

H.R. No. 772

4 WHEREAS, Senator Armbrister, who has served as acting 5 governor and president pro tempore of the senate, has been honored 6 by law enforcement, teacher and education, healthcare, and other 7 organizations for his dedication to the people of Texas; he has 8 twice been named a Top Ten Crime Fighter by the Greater Dallas Crime 9 Commission and has been honored by the Texas Chambers of Commerce 10 and Business for his legislative leadership and exemplary record of public service; and 11

WHEREAS, Having served under five governors and five lieutenant governors, Ken Armbrister has gained a wealth of invaluable knowledge and experience during his terms with the Texas Legislature, and his impressive tenure has earned him the respect and admiration of his colleagues in both the house and the senate, and of the people of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 19 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby recognize the Honorable Ken 20 Armbrister on his retirement from the Texas Senate and extend best 21 wishes to him for continued success and good fortune in all his 22 endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Senator Armbrister as an expression of high regard by

2

1 his colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.

Morrison	Cook of Colorado
Dawson	Gonzalez Toureilles
Hegar	Howard of Fort Bend
Kolkhorst	Luna
Olivo	Rose
Seaman	

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis Geren

Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon

McReynolds Menendez Merritt Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 772 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House