H.R. No. 773

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The community of Escobares in Starr County has a 2 colorful history dating back to 1753, when Jose Miguel Antonio 3 Ramirez and Maria Rita Lopez de Jaen first arrived in the area and 4 petitioned the King of Spain for land in the area; and

5 WHEREAS, The King of Spain acquiesced to the request in 1767 6 and the grant for the area named Rancho Santa Getrudis was accepted 7 by Jose Maria Escobar y Rocha, the adopted son of Jose Miguel 8 Antonio Ramirez, and his wife, Maria Antonio Getrudis Chapa y Lopez 9 de Jaen, the daughter of Maria Rita Lopez de Jaen, in June of 1767 10 after both original applicants for the land grant died before it was 11 approved; and

12 WHEREAS, Rancho Santa Getrudis, designated as the porcion 76, 13 old jurisdiction of the Villa de Mier Nuevo Santander, Nueva 14 Espana, has been known by many names, as its inhabitants have lived 15 under six flags for over 250 years; those names include Rancho San 16 Antonio, Rancho Cacaruttas, Rancho San Jose, Rancho Capal, Rancho 17 Los Cueros, Rancho Escobares, the town of Escobares, and as of 18 October 22, 2005, the City of Escobares; and

WHEREAS, Escobares today has a population of over 2,000 citizens and is located between the Rio Grande and U.S. Highway 83, a mile east of Roma-Los Saenz in south central Starr County, and has expanded to fill the area between Roma and Garceño; it is in the original Spanish land grants of the Mier jurisdiction given north of the Rio Grande to José de Escandón's colonists in the mid-18th

1

H.R. No. 773

1 century; and

2 WHEREAS, The citizens of Escobares have formed their new city 3 government and elected a mayor and board of aldermen to represent 4 the electorate and conduct the duties and requirements of municipal 5 government, including Mayor Noel Escobar and Aldermen Ricardo Pena, 6 Gloria E. Alvarez, Baldemar Escobar, Roberto Luis Naranjo, and 7 Delma Trevino; and

8 WHEREAS, Our fellow member of the Texas House of 9 Representatives, Juan Escobar, is a descendant of the founders of 10 current day Escobares; and

11 WHEREAS, The people of the City of Escobares, with great 12 pride in the continued growth and development of their community, 13 have set Saturday, May 20, 2006, as a day of celebration to rejoice 14 in their new status as a city under the laws of the State of Texas; 15 and

16 WHEREAS, The elected members of the city government will be 17 presented to the public on May 20, 2006, and there will be parades, 18 speeches, and many gatherings to observe the events of the day; now, 19 therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 21 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby salute the new elected 22 officials and the citizens of Escobares for their continuing 23 efforts to improve and develop their special part of the great State 24 of Texas.

> Guillen Escobar

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis Geren

Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon

H.R. No. 773 McReynolds Menendez Merritt Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 773

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 773 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House