RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, With the close of the 79th Session, the Honorable 2 Jesse Jones will be ending his service in the Texas Legislature, 3 concluding a 14-year tenure that saw him serve his Dallas County 4 constituents, and indeed all the citizens of Texas, with integrity 5 and distinction; and

6 WHEREAS, A member of the Texas House of Representatives since the 73rd Legislature in 1993, his professorship in chemistry at 7 Baylor University and the impressive list of academic titles that 8 he has earned made Dr. Jones a natural choice for the House of 9 Representatives Higher Education Committee, where he has been a 10 member for five of his seven legislative sessions; a strong 11 12 proponent of postsecondary studies, he lent his support to a 13 variety of measures on that subject and helped to secure increased 14 funding for college scholarships, among other accomplishments; Dr. Jones has also been a longtime member of the Elections Committee, 15 joining that group during his first legislative session and serving 16 as vice chair from 1997 to 2001; and 17

WHEREAS, A prime example of a concerned citizen who has maintained his productive professional life while also assuming the responsibilities of elected office, Dr. Jones has proven his abilities in both fields and has made immense contributions to his state as a member of the house and as an educator; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

1

Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend the Honorable Jesse Jones for his notable service as a member of this legislative body and extend to him warmest best wishes for success and happiness in the future; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Representative Jones as an expression of high regard

7 by his colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis Geren

Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 808 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2006, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House