S.C.R. No. 1

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Legislature of the State of Texas proudly joins
the citizens of Texas in congratulating The University of Texas
Longhorn football team on winning the Rose Bowl and claiming the

5 2005 National Championship; and

1

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Living their dream in defeating the University of
Southern California, by a score of 41-38 and before a crowd of
93,986, the Longhorns beat the unbeatable and did the unthinkable,
further deepening the lore of Texas football; and

WHEREAS, The Big 12 champion and second-ranked Longhorns met the PAC-10 champion and top-ranked University of Southern California Trojans in a contest touted as the game of the century; the victory gave the Longhorns the second-longest winning streak in school history and brought the university its fourth national championship; and

WHEREAS, The perfect 13-0 season saw the Longhorns ranked number one in the nation in scoring and number six in total defense; the dream team gave the university its 20th straight win, chalked up back-to-back Rose Bowl victories, and rounded the overall school record to 800 wins; and

WHEREAS, Most valuable offensive player of the game honors went to Longhorn quarterback Vince Young, who led the team's fourth-quarter comeback from a 12-point deficit by scoring two rushing touchdowns and a game-clinching two-point conversion; he

S.C.R. No. 1

- 1 was aided by a superb offensive line that did not allow a single
- 2 quarterback sack; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The Longhorns' tenacious defensive line held the
- 4 University of Southern California on two key fourth-down plays;
- 5 Texas defensive back Michael Huff's outstanding performance earned
- 6 him the title of most valuable defensive player of the game; since
- 7 taking the field in 2002 as a redshirt freshman, Huff has started in
- 8 every game and has amassed a career 304 tackles; he added to his
- 9 already prestigious first-team All America honors by being named
- 10 the 2005 Jim Thorpe Award winner, a first for a University of Texas
- 11 player; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Head Coach Mack Brown's inspired leadership and the
- 13 support of his excellent staff enabled the Longhorns to "live the
- 14 dream"; instilling "one heartbeat" into the team's philosophy
- 15 melded the 121 team members into the 2005 National Champions and
- 16 Rose Bowl victors; and
- WHEREAS, The triumphant culmination of the Longhorns' banner
- 18 season has brought great honor to the team, The University of Texas
- 19 at Austin, and the State of Texas; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas,
- 21 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate The University of Texas
- 22 Longhorns on their Rose Bowl and 2005 National Championship
- 23 victories; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for the
- 25 team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Legislature.

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I hereby certify that S.C.R.	No. 1 was adopted by the Senate
on April 24, 2006.	
	Secretary of the Senate
I hereby certify that S.C.R. on May 1, 2006.	. No. 1 was adopted by the House
	Chief Clerk of the House
Approved:	
Date	
Governor	