SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 7

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Richard Andrassy, who has been selected as the Distinguished Houston Surgeon for 2006 by the Houston Surgical Society; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Andrassy holds the position of Denton A. Cooley, M.D., chair in surgery, is professor and chairman of the department of surgery, and is associate dean for clinical operations at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston; he is executive vice president of clinical affairs at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and chief of pediatric surgery at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Andrassy has dedicated a lifetime in service to his country and to the world of medicine; he earned his medical degree from the Medical College of Virginia and served in the United States Air Force from 1964 to 1983; and

WHEREAS, He completed an internship and surgical residency at Wilford Hall United States Air Force Medical Center in San Antonio and a residency in pediatric surgery and pediatric surgical oncology at Children's Hospital in Los Angeles; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his extensive career, Dr. Andrassy has served on numerous boards, lectured around the country, published more than 200 articles, trained countless surgical residents, and demonstrated exceptional commitment to medicine and service to others; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 7

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend Dr. Richard Andrassy on his outstanding medical career and congratulate him on being named the Houston Surgical Society's Distinguished Houston Surgeon for 2006; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Whitmire Gallegos Ellis Lindsay

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 18, 2006.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate