SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 57

WHEREAS, The Texas Environmental Excellence Awards are being presented May 10, 2006, and the presentation provides a fitting opportunity to recognize the proud recipients of these prestigious accolades for their dedicated efforts to protect and conserve our state's natural resources; and

WHEREAS, Nominated by a blue ribbon committee and selected by the Office of the Governor and the commissioners of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, these award-winning Texans involved in small and large businesses, governments, and individual citizenship have voluntarily endeavored to preserve our state's natural resources by preventing pollution, minimizing waste, conserving water, reducing energy consumption, and protecting wildlife; and

WHEREAS, The 2006 Texas Environmental Excellence Awards recipients include Austin Energy, American Airlines, Abitibi-Consolidated, Incorporated, Brazos River Authority, Texas Independent Automotive Association, Texas Water Resources Institute, Bamberger Ranch Preserve, Goodwill Industries of Central Texas, Weslaco High School, and Brent Evans; and

Central Texas, Weslaco High School, and Brent Evans; and WHEREAS, These winners are also sharing their knowledge, technology, and expertise to educate Texans as to how they may protect the environment in their communities, and their leadership will prove vital in preserving our state's natural resources for future generations; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby recognize May 10, 2006, as Texas Environmental Excellence Awards Day at the State Capitol and commend the award recipients for their exemplary efforts on behalf of the Lone Star State; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for each winner as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Averitt

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 27, 2006.

Secretary of the Senate