SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 62

In Memory of Stephen Joseph Perez

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of San Antonio in mourning the loss of Lance Corporal Stephen Joseph Perez, who died April 13, 2006, at the age of 22 while serving his country in Iraq; and

WHEREAS, Stephen was a 2002 graduate of Saint Anthony Catholic High School and attended Saint Mary's University; he enlisted in the United States Marine Corps in 2003, and he was a member of Company B, 1st Battalion, 1st Marine Regiment, 1st Marine Division; and

WHEREAS, A highly trained and respected Marine, Stephen earned numerous decorations and citations during his service, including the Purple Heart, the Iraqi Campaign Medal, the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, the National Defense Service Medal, the Humanitarian Service Medal, and the Sea Service Deployment Ribbon, 2nd Award; and

WHEREAS, Stephen will be remembered for his sense of humor and his ringing laughter, and he enriched the lives of all who knew him; he was a loving, kind-hearted young man whose loyalty, generosity, and dauntless spirit will not be forgotten; and

WHEREAS, A devoted son, brother, and grandson, Stephen leaves behind memories that will be cherished forever by his family and numerous friends; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Stephen Joseph Perez: his mother, Diana Perez; his father, Conrado Perez, Jr.; his brother, Kenneth Perez; and his grandfathers, Conrado Perez, Sr., and Antonio Pena; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of his family as an expression of profound sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Lance Corporal Stephen Joseph Perez.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 27, 2006, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate