SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 94

In Memory of Tomas A. Travieso, Jr.

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of San Antonio in mourning the loss of Tomas A. "Tony" Travieso, Jr., who died April 6, 2006, at the age of 76; and

WHEREAS, Born March 28, 1930, in Saspamco, Texas, Tony was a lifelong resident of San Antonio; he was a direct descendant of the original 16 Canary Island families who settled in San Antonio in 1731; and

WHEREAS, Upon his graduation from Fox Tech High School in 1949, Tony joined the United States Air Force, where he served as a radar operator and achieved the rank of staff sergeant; and

whereas, Tony served the City of San Antonio as a police officer for 36 years; he was known for his excellence at crowd and traffic control, for which he was given a departmental trophy; he was on duty at the Battle of Flowers Parade at Fiesta each of his years on the force; and

WHEREAS, A devoted husband, father, and grandfather, Tony gave generously to others, and he leaves behind memories that will be cherished by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby extend sincere

condolences to the bereaved family of Tomas A. Travieso, Jr.:

his beloved wife of 52 years, Rebecca R. Travieso; his daughters

S.R. No. 94

and sons-in-law, Cynthia and Gilbert Ortega, Brenda and Felix Gallego, Deborah Travieso, and Linda and Larry Garza; his son and daughter-in-law, Toby Thomas and Carrie Travieso; his sister and brother-in-law, Lillie and Bob Deal; and his six grandchildren; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of his family as an expression of profound sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Tomas A. Travieso, Jr.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 27, 2006, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate