SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 111

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas Woman's University Pioneers gymnastics team, which recently won its eighth USA Gymnastics Collegiate National Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Pioneers captured their first national title since 2003 with a score of 192.425, as eight team members earned individual All-America honors; senior Bethany Rehm won the individual national title on the uneven bars and junior Courtney Arno won the individual title on the balance beam; student athletes maintained a team grade point average of 3.63 in addition to their hard work in the gym and in competition; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the season; team members Courtney Arno, Amie Boles, Brenda Campbell, Brisa Fuentes, Amy Hulbert, Jennifer Kingsbury, Amber McMeans, Brista Michael, Kelsey Nixon, Brittany Parker, Tonya Pipkorn, Nicole Poling, Bethany Rehm, Emily Seidelman, and Nakia Westbrook can take pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Frank Kudlac and assistant coaches Jackie Fain and Tim Rivera and with the assistance of graduate assistant Lisa Klein, student manager Catherine Schnoes, head athletic trainer Kris Ring and assistant athletic trainer Adri Perry, the Pioneers have developed exceptional ability and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Texas Woman's University, the City of Denton, and the State of Texas are proud of the Pioneers for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend the Texas Woman's University Pioneers gymnastics team for their successful season and congratulate them on winning their eighth national championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Estes

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 1, 2006.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate